📍 {12/07/21} ✦ Cosplay: "Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon - Knight Version" ✨ 🎀 🌙 (Based on the ´Sailor Knights´ collection by NAIMA) [PART I] ✦ 🇪🇸 │ 🇺🇸

« For what it's worth: it's never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There's no time limit »

• The Curious Case of Benjamin Button •


🇪🇸 ~ Aproximadamente en 2014 navegando por Tumblr, me encontré con la publicación de una artista que había ilustrado a las Sailor Scouts como no lo había visto antes: Versiones con armaduras de diferentes culturas.

Me enamoré enloquecidamente a primera vista del diseño que hizo de Sailor Moon, porque tiene todo lo que busco y me gusta para un proyecto de Cosplay: El diseño es heroico, limpio, tiene varias capas, hermosos detalles pero sin ser excesivo, y sobre todo, exige la utilización de varias técnicas y materiales.

[Lo que me motiva a escoger un personaje para elaborar su traje, son dos cosas. 1: Sentirme identificada, o 2: Que el diseño represente un reto entretenido].

🇺🇸 ~ In about 2014 browsing Tumblr, I came across a post by an artist who had illustrated Sailor Scouts like I hadn't seen before: Versions with armor from different cultures.

I fell madly in love at first sight with the design she did of Sailor Moon, because it has everything I look for and like for a Cosplay project: The design is heroic, clean, has several layers, beautiful details but without being excessive, and above all, it requires the use of several techniques and materials.

[What motivates me to choose a character to elaborate their costume, are two things. 1: To feel identified, or 2: That the design represents an entertaining challenge.


✦ This was the first time I asked an illustrator if I could recreate her version of a character ✦


Recuerdo que después de preguntar a mis amigos de confianza qué opinaban del diseño (siempre les pregunto si algo se me vería bien o no, porque tienen una implacable franqueza), le escribí un DM a la autora preguntando si me concedía su permiso para recrear su diseño como Cosplay.

Sin el permiso explícito del artista no podía hacer nada, no importa cuánto deseara recrear ese diseño, los deseos del artista/autor están primero. Cuando me respondió diciendo que SI, explote de la felicidad, fue muy amable ✧(๑✪д✪)۶ㅂ٩(✪д✪๑)✧

I remember after asking my trusted friends what they thought of the design (I always ask them if something would look good on me or not, because they have a relentless openness), I wrote a DM to the author asking if she would grant me her permission to recreate her design as Cosplay.

Without the artist's explicit permission I couldn't do anything, no matter how much I wanted to recreate that design, the artist/author's wishes come first. When she replied saying YES, I exploded with happiness, she was very kind ✧(๑✪д✪)۶ㅂ٩(✪д✪๑)


Too short for my liking!
Looks nice, but not comfortable ~
✦ Fuente
✦ Fuente


Hacer un traje de la serie de Sailor Senshi Sailor Moon siempre estuvo en mi mente, pero francamente no me siento cómoda con el concepto de las faldas cortas. No me gusta usar faldas cortas… pero amo las armaduras.

Este diseño resolvía lo que más me molestaba cuando pensaba en un traje de Sailor Moon, no me gusta la idea de caminar con falda corta por una convención, mucho menos subirme al escenario (ノ`□´)ノ⌒┻━┻

Making a costume from the Sailor Senshi Sailor Moon series was always on my mind, but frankly I'm not comfortable with the concept of short skirts. I don't like wearing short skirts... but I love armor.

This design solved what bothered me the most when I was thinking about a Sailor Moon costume, I don't like the idea of walking around a convention in a short skirt, much less getting on stage (ノ`□')ノ⌒┻━┻━┻


• ℂ 𝕆 𝕊 ℙ 𝕃 𝔸 𝕐 • ℙ ℝ 𝕆 𝕁 𝔼 ℂ 𝕋 •
« 美少女戦士セーラームーン - 𝐊𝐧𝐢𝐠𝐡𝐭 𝐕𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐢𝐨𝐧 [𝐏𝐀𝐑𝐓 𝐈] »


El 80% de los trajes que he hecho son para competencias. Me consideraba una Cosplayer de concursos, no soy del tipo que se toma fotos o era muy activa en las redes sociales.

Si fabricaba un traje, era para competir cuando estuviera listo.

80% of the costumes I've made are for competitions. I considered myself a competition cosplayer, I'm not the type that takes pictures or was very active on social media.

If I made a costume, it was for competition when it was ready.



Pero un detalle con este traje es que los trajes basados en fanarts difícilmente eran aceptados en los concursos de Venezuela. Aquí (como en muchos otros países) hay preferencia por los diseños que son canon para concursos y selecciones para eventos en el extranjero.

Por esa razón este proyecto pasó a estar en una nueva categoría para mí: Trajes para asistir a convenciones cuando me contrataran como jueza, o para dar talleres/foros ✈ ✨

But a detail with this costume is that fanart-based costumes were hardly accepted in Venezuelan contests. Here (as in many other countries) there is a preference for designs that are canon for contests and selections for events abroad.

For that reason this project went into a new category for me: Costumes to attend conventions when I was hired as a judge, or to give workshops/forums ✈ ✨



Cuando recibes y aceptas una invitación como “Cosplayer Invitado” a una convención aprendes rápidamente que como tu rol es atender/entretener público de varias edades, necesitas algo llamativo, algo que sobresalga de entre la multitud, un proyecto ambicioso que justifique el por qué fuiste seleccionado de entre muchos otros artistas Cosplayers, pero también, un traje que te permita moverte, agacharte, subir escaleras e ir al baño, y que puedas utilizar sin quitártelo por, aproximadamente, 6 o 8 horas continuas.

Este diseño es, literalmente, PERFECTO PARA ESO, porque cumple con todos los requerimientos. Sin mencionar por supuesto, la bendición de que cabe fácilmente en una maleta de mano.

When you receive and accept an invitation as a "Guest Cosplayer" to a convention you quickly learn that since your role is to attend/entertain a multi-age audience, you need something eye-catching, something that stands out from the crowd, an ambitious project that justifies why you were selected out of many other Cosplayers, but also, a costume that allows you to move, bend, climb stairs and go to the bathroom, and that you can wear without taking it off for approximately 6 to 8 continuous hours.

This design is literally PERFECT FOR THAT, because it meets all the requirements. Not to mention of course, the blessing that it fits easily into a carry-on suitcase.



Lo primero que hago cuando decido empezar un nuevo proyecto es hacer una lista de materiales* con las medidas y cantidades de todo lo que necesito. Normalmente en esta parte estoy muy hiperactiva y escucho muchas canciones de la serie original del personaje, veo videos o pongo en bucle la serie.

Después de eso, extraigo con el gotero una muestra de color de cada pieza del traje, especialmente las telas, y lo imprimo junto a imágenes del personaje en distintos ángulos (en este caso solo contaba con 1 imagen, pero esta tan bien hecha que no necesitas más referencias).

The first thing I do when I decide to start a new project is to make a list of materials with the measurements and quantities of everything I need. Usually in this part I am very hyperactive and I listen to a lot of songs from the original series of the character, watch videos or loop the series.

After that, I extract with the eyedropper a color sample of each piece of the costume, especially the fabrics, and print it together with images of the character in different angles (in this case I only had 1 image, but it's so well done that you don't need more references).



Tenía por costumbre hacer una sola compra fuerte de todos los materiales (o la mayoría) en una única salida, que era hacer tour desde el norte hasta el sur de la ciudad.

De este traje lo primero que compre fueron las telas de la falda, el body, velcro rojo, bolitas de anime, pinturas, y muchas pequeñas cosas más. Esta parte siempre es emocionante.

I used to make a single big purchase of all the materials (or most of them) in a single outing, which was to make a tour from the north to the south of the city.

From this costume the first things I bought were the skirt fabrics, the bodysuit, red velcro, anime balls, paints, and many little things more. This part is always exciting.



Personalmente siempre escojo materiales y piezas resistentes, no me gusta invertir tiempo y dinero en cosas que se van a dañar con el primer golpe que reciban, o que no soporten un ciclo fuerte en la lavandería. No me gustan los “Cosplay desechables”.

Por eso tiendo a escoger telas pesadas como gabardinas, drill, y rasos gruesos (como raso Vivaldi o Fidanzata). Aunque estos recorridos siempre los hacía con una de mis mejores amigas, @Pigritia, que tiene un ojo afiladísimo para los materiales de calidad y los colores (también es minuciosa escogiendo las mejores cosas de una pila revuelta de misceláneos).

… y también me cuida para que no me estafen, porque cuando se trata de Cosplay me emociono comprando y pierdo la noción de mi alrededor (una vez escogiendo telas casi me roban por distraída, pero otra amiga se dio cuenta a tiempo y me ayudo) ((((((っ;゚∀゚)っ

Personally I always choose resistant materials and pieces, I don't like to invest time and money in things that are going to be damaged with the first hit they receive, or that won't withstand a strong cycle in the laundry. I don't like "disposable cosplay".

That's why I tend to choose heavy fabrics like gabardines, drill, and thick satins (like Vivaldi satin or Fidanzata). Although these tours I always did with one of my best friends, @Pigritia, who has a razor-sharp eye for quality materials and colors (she's also meticulous in picking the best stuff out of a jumbled pile of miscellaneous).

... and she also takes care of me so I don't get ripped off, because when it comes to Cosplay I get excited shopping and lose track of my surroundings (once while choosing fabrics I was almost robbed for being distracted, but another friend noticed in time and helped me) ((((((っ;゚∀゚)っ



La primera cosa que hice de este proyecto fue la falda, de todo el conjunto, era lo que más me emocionaba porque lo consideraba un reto, el fondo de la falda tiene muchas capas de encaje texturizado diferente, y tiene un ángulo desigual bastante atractivo.

Que por cierto, lo más costoso en $$$ de este traje, es todo el encaje del fondo de la falda, y la peluca (pero de la peluca y la aventura en la aduana para salvarla hablare en otro post).

The first thing I made from this project was the skirt, out of the whole outfit, it was what I was most excited about because I considered it a challenge, the bottom of the skirt has many layers of different textured lace, and it has a rather attractive uneven angle.

Which by the way, the most expensive thing in $$$ of this outfit, is all the lace on the bottom of the skirt, and the wig (but the wig and the adventure in customs to save it I will talk about in another post).



La falda me tomó aproximadamente una semana entera para fabricarla. Tuve muchísimos problemas generando el patrón base porque las faldas de Sailor Scouts no son rectas, tiene un tipo de tablón que las hace ver redondeadas, pero si las cortas tipo campana o media campana, la parte del trasero queda demasiado corta (sobre todo si tu tipo de cuerpo es reloj de arena o guitarra).

The skirt took me about a whole week to make. I had a lot of trouble generating the base pattern because Sailor Scouts skirts are not straight, they have a kind of plank that makes them look rounded, but if you cut them bell or half-bell style, the backside is too short (especially if your body type is hourglass or guitar).



Este traje lo elabore para asistir en 2016 a la Caracas Comic Con (era la segunda invitación que recibía de ellos, fue impactante para mi ser solicitada por segunda vez. Esa convención era y sigue siendo LA MEJOR del país desde 2010. Que la Caracas Comic Con te llamara era lo más top que te podía pasar como Cosplayer nacional).

No sé si ese hito lo sigue siendo porque no conozco a la nueva generación de cosplayers venezolanos (yo empecé cuando tenía 16, y hoy tengo 32), ni siquiera sé si hay generación de relevo por la crisis económica que azota el país, porque el Cosplay es un hobbie bastante caro.

Lo que es una pena porque Venezuela tiene un potencial competitivo bastante bueno (los mejores cosplayers del mundo a nivel competitivo son latinoamericanos. México y Brasil son unos FINAL BOSS; el 4 veces campeón del mundo es Brasileño) 🏆 ✌️

I made this costume to attend in 2016 to the Caracas Comic Con (it was the second invitation I received from them, it was shocking for me to be requested for the second time. That convention was and still is THE BEST in the country since 2010. That the Caracas Comic Con called you was the top thing that could happen to you as a national Cosplayer).

I don't know if that milestone is still the same because I don't know the new generation of Venezuelan cosplayers (I started when I was 16, and today I'm 32), I don't even know if there is a replacement generation because of the economic crisis that plagues the country, because cosplay is a very expensive hobby.

Which is a shame because Venezuela has quite a good competitive potential (the best cosplayers in the world at a competitive level are Latin American. Mexico and Brazil are like FINAL BOSS; the 4 times world champion is Brazilian) 🏆 ✌️



Volviendo a esta nota, desafortunadamente a menos de 10 días de mi viaje a la capital, rompí accidentalmente el corpiño/corset del traje… corté y cosí en la dirección equivocada toda la tela, así que se rasgó al primer uso y era imposible de recuperar. Me sentí terrible y tuve un acceso de ansiedad que todavía recuerdo.

No había tiempo para repararlo ni hacer uno nuevo, y por eso tuve que hacer un cambio de último momento en mi cronograma (a los organizadores de los eventos que te contratan debes decirle con antelación qué repertorio llevaras, por motivos de seguridad y marketing).

Back to this note, unfortunately less than 10 days from my trip to the capital, I accidentally broke the bodice/corset of the suit... I cut and sewed in the wrong direction all the fabric, so it ripped on the first wear and was impossible to recover. I felt terrible and had an anxiety attack that I still remember.

There was no time to repair it or make a new one, and so I had to make a last minute change to my schedule (event organizers who book you must be told in advance what repertoire you will be wearing, for safety and marketing reasons).



Desde entonces, el traje quedo listo en un 70/80%, no volví a intentar hacer el corpiño, estaba muy decepcionada de mi misma. Lo guardé todo para un próximo viaje, planificado un tiempo después, pero ese viaje no se dio.

Supongo que las cosas pasan por algo.

Since then, the suit was 70/80% ready, I didn't try to make the bodice again, I was very disappointed in myself. I saved it all for an upcoming trip, planned some time later, but that trip didn't happen.

I guess things happen for a reason.



Últimamente siento mucha nostalgia y un gran vacío. Mi vida no es lo mismo sin trabajar en mis Cosplays, sin un proyecto en el qué trabajar poco a poco (estos proyectos generan una enorme satisfacción y orgullo desde el inicio hasta el final, cada uno es un logro único).

A pesar de los años, nunca pensé en abandonar este proyecto ni ninguno de los que ya empecé. Solo espero el momento adecuado para retomarlo todo, el tiempo en que me sienta 100% bien de nuevo (porque muchas cosas han pasado estos 4 años).

Lately I feel a lot of nostalgia and a great emptiness. My life is not the same without working on my Cosplays, without a project to work on little by little (these projects generate a huge satisfaction and pride from the beginning to the end, each one is a unique achievement).

Despite the years, never thought of abandoning this project or any of the ones I already started. I'm just waiting for the right time to take it all up again, the time when I feel 100% good again (because a lot has happened these 4 years).


✦ Han pasado 5 años ✦


Algo que no muchos saben es que mi motivación para aprender a coser fue principalmente para fabricar mis propios Cosplay.

Cuando comencé a publicar aquí en 2018, me mude (en 2017) a una casa pequeña donde no tengo espacio para fabricar mis trajes como antes, así que desde entonces empezó un largo hiatus para mí como Cosplayer/Cosmaker.

Pero… siempre tengo presente que gracias a hacer Cosplay, ir a convenciones, competencias y todo eso, conocí a quienes hoy día son mis mejores amigos; esta es una parte de mi vida que necesito de regreso.

Something not many know is that my motivation to learn how to sew was mainly to make my own Cosplays.

When I started posting here in 2018, I moved (in 2017) to a small house where I don't have space to make my costumes like before, so since then started a long hiatus for me as a Cosplayer/Cosmaker.

But... I always keep in mind that thanks to Cosplaying, going to conventions, competitions and all that, I met who today are my best friends; this is a part of my life that I need back.


✦ Fuente ✦


Hoy quiero empezar una nueva línea de post en mi blog para mostrar por partes los procesos creativos de la fabricación de algunos de mis trajes (con la esperanza de motivarme mientras finiquito algunas cosas en casa). En estos momentos me siento inspirada para arreglar este traje.

En mi vieja página de FB hay varias carpetas recopilatorias con fotos de varios procesos de elaboración, pero no escribí un tutorial o expliqué cómo hice qué cosa (estas carpetas son para probar que yo hago mis cosas, porque en el mundo del Cosplay hay mucha gente que miente sobre los trajes que usan para las competencias; por ejemplo, hay gente que compra cosas, y le dice a los jueces que lo fabricaron ellos).

El W.I.P de hoy es casi 100% inédito salvo algunos adelantos que publiqué en mi Instagram para el tiempo en que pensaba utilizarlo, espero que eso no sea un problema (:3」∠)

Today I want to start a new line of posts on my blog to show in parts the creative processes of making some of my costumes (hopefully to motivate me while I finish some things at home). Right now I'm feeling inspired to fix this costume.

On my old FB page there are several compilation folders with pictures of various making processes, but I didn't write a tutorial or explain how I made what (these folders are to prove that I make my stuff, because in the Cosplay world there are many people who lie about the costumes they use for competitions; for example, there are people who buy stuff, and tell the judges that they made it themselves).

Today's W.I.P is almost 100% unpublished except some previews that I posted on my Instagram for the time I was planning to use it, I hope that won't be a problem (:3」∠)



¡Muchas gracias por leer!

✨ 🍓 ✨ Feliz, suavecito, y creativo día para todos ✨ 🍓 ✨

✨ 🍃 ✨

🍓 Autoría del texto y todas las imágenes: @Tesmoforia 🍓
🚨 ¡Por favor no tomes, edites ni re-publiques mi material sin mi permiso! 🚨
📷 Herramientas: Postimages/TinyPNG/Lumix Panasonic DMC-FH2/Smartphone 📷
💌 ¿Deseas ponerte en contacto conmigo? Tesmoforia@Outlook.com 💌
✨ Translation done with Deepl - Separadores: @Vanuzza



Los separadores e iconos utilizados en esta publicación NO SON DE LIBRE USO, la usuaria Diseñadora @Vanuzza los creo para mí; están protegidos por los Derechos de Autor, es decir, no pueden ser tomados ni empleados por terceros. Por favor, respete la propiedad de otros autores, creativos y creadores de contenido. Gracias.


⚜ Todos los Derechos Reservados / © TESMOFORIA - 2018/2021 ⚜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency