My Needlework Monday Weekend Thought: The Art of Quilt Embroidery Using Old Fabrics

20210714_025055.jpg

Polish_20210713_175147235.jpg

(Photo: Done with my zigzags for the first three lines )


Hello everyone! What's up for today's project? Well, I decided to make a pause with my punch-in needle for a while because I've "unearthed" another exciting but straining job while I was digging into my little jungle of miscellaneous stuffs neatly piled in our baby crib. I made use of my eldest son's crib as a storage of fabrics and old clothing that can still be useful for whatever comes into my creative mind! Lol!

Polish_20210713_122259386.jpg

Materials

I've chosen this beautiful table cover and my old long woolen skirt which I've 'outgrown'.:( Funny guys...I can no longer go back to my size M (that was a decade ago) no matter how hard I try so I better save it before our friendly neighbor notice its idle condition.

The Plan

My plan is to make a quilted blanket this time. I missed doing this.

IMG_20210712_225951.jpg

I managed to cut 30 granny squares for the printed fabric and 20 squares for the marron wool. I still have a pair of it in my closet that I will be dealing with later after am done with the rest.

Polish_20210713_123354974.jpg

Old Linen

I made use of my old white linen for the base. It feels cool even during summer while looking at my quilted blanket.:)

IMG_20210713_115801.jpg

How To Make A Straight Line

I used my cutting table to create a straight pattern inorder to make a perfect right angle. You see guys, this is what you should do when you cut the square patterns or when you cut a straight line even with a tape when cutting because the other pair of the scissors can pass down freely while cutting, right?

Polish_20210713_124434698.jpg

I used a double-edged tape to make the cloth stable before sewing.

IMG_20210713_121758.jpg

Precautionary Measures

It is best to baste the edgings first and remove the pins before you do the final job with your sewing machine to avoid getting pricked especially when you have small kids. Unexpected accidents could happen guys so take note on this as I've experienced it when my crossstitch needle fell and my youngest son stepped on it that I have to bring him to the hospital to have his toes operated because the needle was broken leaving the other half inside and that it needed to be extracted immediately before it moved to another muscle tissue.

The doctor said that there will be a tendency for the broken needle to go with the flow of the bloodstream. To think that he was only 4 yes old during that time made me so guilty more than anything else hence am now extra careful.

IMG_20210713_115801.jpg

As you can see, I've made three lines on my table. This means that I will be working on them first before I go to the next line.

I don't have a fixed timetable as to when I will have it done. Any wild guess? See I have 30 granny squares for the printed ones making the other part to be its equivalent.

Polish_20210713_175147235.jpg

I need to do zigzag on each square which is the main idea of quilting.

IMG_20210714_004546.jpg

*Update"

I submitted my post 13 hours ago while I continued with sewing until I finished eight lines of granny squares at 1:0'Clock AM.

This is all for now but my story does not end here. I still plan to make my quilted blanket more beautiful than what you see now.

Thank you for dropping by my page and thank you to the ladies behind this awesome community of needleworkers, re: @croshielle, @neumannsalva, @marblely, @muscara, @lauramica @kattycrochet and
@romeskie! God bless us all!

@Sarimanok

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency