An Organizer For My Wooden Hoop Embroidery & Pin Cushion

Polish_20210720_045130616.jpg

Greetings! What I have today is an empty canister of butter cookies. I like it because it's plastic unlike my other sewing kit which is a round tin can. Not that I didn't like it, it's just that there's a tendency for the can to get rustic in time. Well, I already have a number of big boxes and organizers piled in one corner but I needed a separate one for my embroidery wooden hoop and Punch-in needles, threads, etc. It's easier to pick one box with all the stuffs intact!

It's nice to know that some of the needleworkers had to go out to find the materials they needed. I love to do that as well though I have limited my walks outside due to this pandemic.

For the organizer, I only need the following materials:

Empty Canister
• Cloth
• Thread/Needle
• Foam
• lace
• Double-edged tape

IMG_20210719_160555.jpg

I utilized the extra cloth that I used for my handy bag which I've made yesterday. It's the exact colour for my organizer.

Polish_20210720_073453465.jpg

I cut the strips and sew them for the side cover after placing the Double-edged tape. It looked like the bark of a tree or somewhat like that of an animal skin.

IMG_20210719_160854.jpg

For the cover, I placed the fabric on top and held it with my palm and followed the side while cutting, making a perfect circle.

The Pin Cushion
Polish_20210720_140357854.jpg

To make it more handy, I created a pin cushion with the available cuttings. It's more convenient to put a pin cushion on top of the cover because when you open the box to start with your work, you can place it beside where you can prick your needle immediately when you need another threading or when you stand on impulse then forgot where you in placed it. C'mon guys, don't tell it doesn't happen to you! Lol! This is the most important part that needleworkers should take heed for precautionary measures to avoid mishaps especially when we have growing up kids.

You see, needles tend to get dull and rusted over time and this is what I've learned in my Home Economics subject when I was in grade VI. We were taught how to make a pin cushion often in shape of a tomato and Emery bag.

The difference between a pin Cushion and an Emery bag

Pin cushion is often made of soft cotton or silk where you can softly prick your needle for safekeeping, righ?

• On the other hand, emery bag is often built in a carrot or strawberry shape. The filling is not a soft cotton ball but rather that of very fine dry sand. During our time, we were asked to bring a broken piece of glass or a chipped plate we have at home. Well, we only needed a small part of it so my friend brought their old chipped plate and smashed it!:). Then each of us got a small piece, wrapped it safely and started to slowly smash it with a steel object or a hammer until they're in fine granules. This is what we used as fillings after making our little casing. I loved to make the carrot bag.

The main reason is that emery bag is used to sharpen your needles and remove any rust, making it easier to prick through and through. It is best to hung it beside your sewing machine so you can easily sharpen your needles just in case. But, do not leave it there unlike the pin cushion because the needle will have the tendency to get dull and rusty!:):)

IMG_20210719_160333.jpg

IMG_20210719_154855.jpg

I made two holes at the center of the cover my making it look like a giant botton! Hmmm, that is to make my pin cushion stable guys.

IMG_20210719_154816.jpg

The cute rose served as stopper while I sew the center of pin cushion down the holes of the cover. There, isn't it a beauty!

Polish_20210720_152914488.jpg

My wooden hoop is now safe and intact with my other stuffs with pin cushion on top!

IMG_20210720_044629.jpg

Thank you for dropping by and have a nice day ahead!

Thank you ladies behind this awesome community, re: @croshielle, @neumannsalva, @marblely, @muscara, @lauramica @kattycrochet and
@romeskie! God bless us all!

Till then,

@Sarimanok

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency