Beauty and the Beast Inspired Crochet Dress (WIP)

Tale As Old As Time...

Another WIP that's taking so long to finish. One problem with having a deadline too lax for a project is that your WIPs keep being pushed to the sidelines more and more. The beauty to it though is that you get to admire the progress of your work.

I started this a couple of months ago where I learned how to make the zigzag stitch pattern. The idea is to make the bodice look like that of Belle's dress. This is intended for the 7th birthday but I still want to make it resemble the one in the cartoons. Because of the current situation, the measurements were mostly guesswork. It worked out good though because when my niece stayed here for a month, the measurements I made fit her well.

So the next step was to continue with the off-shoulder design which I shared on my shell stitch a couple of days ago. I completed a whole 4-5 inches of this off-shoulder shell stitch design. I'll need to add elastics on the sides so it would fit on my niece's shoulders. Right now, I am actually thinking of adding straps but I'll get to it once we do a fitting once again.

Another way to work around the issue of whether it would fit or not, I designed the dress to be tie back. I got that advice from @jonalyn2020. She's been making crochet wearables and that's one of her tips. Thanks, Jona!

I am working on an 8ply polyester yarn for this project. For the bodice, I used my 4mm crochet hook, while for the off-shoulder, I used the 3.5mm crochet hook by accident. That's the thing about putting your WIPs on the sidelines for too long. You tend to forget some of the details on the project. It may also be because I am working on several WIPs right now. LOL. And the only backup data I have for my projects were all wiped out when I formatted my phone's memory card.

Right now, the project has moved on to the next phase: the skirt. I want if to be fully crocheted, my sister wants to add some tutu so it would have that balloon style she's going for. Technically, she is my client so I have to take her peg into consideration. And so while crocheting the skirt, I am working on a plan to make our pegs work together.

More or less, we are coming to an agreement. Can't wait to see the finished product. I still have three months to go, but I am rephrasing it in my mind to "I only have three months before the deadline." Hopefully, I get to assemble the entire dress ahead of time. My sister is a bit too excited about the pre-birthday photoshoot.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency