A grievous mistake making a floral wrap dress.

Hello Hiveians

There is often a clear difference between a busty person and those of us that are slimmer and I find it very challenging to make a dress for thick or chubby people.
First because the body size has become way bigger and I would have to work with bigger measurements and the another reason is you don't find this perfect figure 8 shape of a model such that when you sew the outfits looks attractive from afar.

A perfect figure 8 in fashion is when someone's bust and hip measurements are similar and there is at least 8inches significant difference between the bust waist and hip.

I decided to learn and try sewing cloth for chubby people regardless of their measurements.

The bust measurements was around 45-47 inches in circumference.

BeautyPlus_20210719134539062_save.jpg


IMG_20210719_134444_712.jpg

Mostly for those with bigger tummy size and expectant mothers I tend to make the lower part of the dress a flair cut , pleats or gathers to prevent any form of discomfort around the belle because of the condition that now prevents them from putting on tight fitting clothes.

Making process

First I made a flair cut of 30inches long using the under bust measurements of 38inches in circumference.

IMG_20210718_184312_205.jpg


IMG_20210718_184605_630.jpg

This was achieved folding the clothes on bias

Next I proceed to cut the upper part of the bodice Tina 17 inches length which rests right under the bust.
I wouldn't want any joining at the tunny region so this was lifted to the under bust.

Back bodice

This is just a normal basic block

IMG_20210718_190224_204.jpg

This was then used to cut an overlap for the front block

IMG_20210718_190157_189.jpg


IMG_20210718_190155_405.jpg

With this I was done cutting.

Right before I started sewing I realized that didn't add a zipper allowance to the back block and with this the dress won't be able to enter her body.
The reason simple put the the under bust measurements is smaller compared to the bust and hip and it can't pass either of them to enter her.
Even if its a wrap and the front is wide open for the head to pass through there is a problem with the under bust already.

Village style correction.

I don't want a rough dress where j would slash the back and join strips of at least 2inches for zipper allowance, then I thought of the village style where I can fix a zipper under the arm.
šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

Right there and then was were my zip was fixed.

I made a little gathers of the flair because of excess allowance and joined it with my upper block after making facing for both the wrap part and back block.

IMG_20210719_132013_177.jpg


IMG_20210719_132020_110.jpg

The dress is delivered and it looked nice, my sis owe me a picture of herself in it.

I do hope you find corrections to your sewing mistake like I did with mine even if its old fashion.

Thank you for having me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency