#NeedleWorkMonday :: I just felt like knitting


11.jpg

It was a usual day but I decided not to do my chores. Instead, I went searching for my knitting needles and a soft yarn. I suddenly had the urge to knit. I have neglected my needlework projects for months now and I have forgotten where I have placed my needles. I know they are in one of the many pouches I have and after rummaging through my hill high of things, I found a matching pair of needles with the soft yarn that I was thinking of.

2.jpg

It is always a mood thing and I have not been able to focus on needlework these days. But the other day, I just felt like working my knitting needles. I had no project in mind, and all I wanted to do was to move my fingers in knitting style. I was searching for a repetitive therapeutic activity and yes, knitting continental style will fit very nicely.

I casted on some stitches, not too many because I would like to see progress quick. The problem with casting on too many stitches, I take a long time to finish one row and when I don't see progress, I tend to stop.

4.jpg

When it comes to needlework, I am more comfortable with crochet but I like the softness of a knitted yarn. I don’t knit much and currently, I only know how to knit straight. No socks, no curves, just cast on a couple of stitches and knit all the way.

5.jpg

I didn’t feel like purling. I wanted to knit every row, Continental style, where the yarn is held with the left hand. I used to knit English style but after I attempted the Continental style in 2019 (which I wrote about it here too), I realized that I am able to control the stitch tension better and I prefer the movement too.

6.jpg

My stitches used to be tight with English style knitting and I would stop knitting after a while because my fingers would feel tired with all the tension.

7.jpg

The tension of stitches usually brings tension to my mind too. But when I started learning Continental style, I felt it was faster (in my slow standards) and the tension was more even and at a comfortable ease.

I brought my little knitting project along while I waited in the car.

12.jpg

I have short attention span these days. Each of my knit sessions could only last for 30 minutes or less, and that was just a few rows each time. I stumbled a few times when the stitch slipped out of the needle because I used metal needles but I managed to slip it back, or so I thought.
My knitted piece is now 3inches wide and 11inches long.

16.jpg

I thought I was doing quite a good job until I noticed there were a couple of loose stitches. Dang.

13.jpg

14.jpg

If it was crochet, I know how to fix the stitches by unraveling a couple of stitches and crocheting it back but when it comes to knitting, in the past, I tend to unravel all the way until the end and redo the whole thing but I decided to let it be time. I have knitted too many rows already. Maybe I will sew something over once I know what I am doing with this piece. For now, I am glad I fulfilled my knitting desire for the week ☺


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

Here's wishing everyone a good week and take care!


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

#NeedleWorkMonday and #NeedleWork

💗 Our Motto: Support & Inspire 💗

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.
Take a look at the FAQ to learn more!


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png

Remember to subscribe to the NeedleWorkMonday community!

Read here to learn how!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency