Stuffed Felt Owl – easy handmade how to

CollageMaker_20210920_080321339.jpg


Hello, friends especially needleworkers!


Today I would like to share what I made yesterday, got the inspiration from little walks on Saturday, yesterday I started my project with the felt fabrics that I have. Actually I had some other fabrics to consider like and also some cotton fabrics in natural colour and also baby blue shade colors ( I had some in polkatots, stripes and checkers pattern), but then I decided to use felt, because it had more volume and also it could be more colorful and eye catching to use. Without any much talking, now let me share how I made it.


MATERIALS AND THINGS NEEDED:

  •      Felt fabrics in turquoise, pink, soft pink, broken white, yellow, and black 
    
  •      Some embroidery floss also in turquoise, pink, soft pink, broken white, yellow, and black 
    
  •      A Sewing needle, don’t use too large size of the needle 
    
  •      An unused thick paper 
    
  •      A Marker to draw the pattern 
    
  •      A Pencil 
    
  •      Scissors 
    

HOW TO MAKE IT:

FIRST

I started by drawing the owl that I want on the paper with the marker and then cut it off, to make sure that the shape was symmetric I fold the paper in the middle then cut the right and left side together. Then I transfer it on the turquoise fabric, I made 2 pieces for the front and back, then I also drew the pink fabric to make the wing. Then cut them off.

20210920_075624.jpg

SECOND

For the fur I used the soft pink fabric and then cut it like below, I also prepared two circles in broken white and two smaller circles in black, plus a beak in yellow.

20210920_075641.jpg

THIRD

Time to sew, started from the black part of the eyes, by using 2 strains of black embroidery floss, I whipped stitch them on the white part. Then put the white circles on the eye, also I did it with whipped stitch. Do the same for the beak. And then for the fur I only did the whipped stitch to its’ upper part.

20210920_075659.jpg

FOURTH

I also did the whipped stitch for the wings but only a bit to join it with the body. After that, I sew the front and back part together by using the blanket stitch. Then, fulfill the cotton balls inside the owl. My tip: using Dacron would be better cause the texture would be softer than cotton balls. Then I made the last part of the owl, an oval turquoise color plus two yellow feet.

20210920_075715.jpg

FIFTH

I then sew the two feet on the oval turquoise then the oval turquoise joined with the whole body of the owl with the blanket stitch.

20210920_075736.jpg

TA, DA

Cute felt owl is finished now, I could use it to put my straight pins and also needle now.

20210920_075851.jpg


Thanks for reading my article, hope you like it and see you on my next article.

Happy needleworkmonday!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency