Let the Hatting Begin!

125EF75F-18A7-4EF5-A82A-77CF638735F9.jpeg

It’s that time of year again where I’ll be busy making hats for my entire family. Not only just for the seven of us but I have requests from extended family too.

Since my last pumpkin endeavor I haven’t put down my crochet hooks. I have literally been enjoying every minute of it because it feels good getting back to my craft.

Last year I didn’t make any new hats so all of the kiddos have surely outgrown theirs. I won’t be doing character hats this year partly because I just don’t feel like doing anything extravagant and also because the fact most of my kids have outgrown that stage. Although a couple of them did ask for Pokémon characters lol.

I myself have had the same crochet hats (two slouch hats and two brim hats) for the past 4 years so I am definitely making me another one as well. I haven’t decided on the style or color yet.

I want to pick out my new coat first so I can coordinate them together. I have also had the same cost for quite some time now. I’ve learned to preserve things probably way further than they were intended to go.

I can thank my dad for that. He is one to keep plastic on a new couch and in his new truck for years. He keeps so many things covered that by the time he enjoys them they have become dated. 😂

I keep my new jackets and coats covered in one of those long clear protective garment bags so they can stay new as long as possible. Most of my shoes still have their original shoe box too 😁. Not my fault, I get it from my daddy.

Anyhow, after so long it’s time for a new style. My coats are still in good condition but I’m just ready for a style change.

For this post I’ll be showing you the start of my girl’s hats. After theirs I’ll start on my boy’s hats and then comes my husbands and mine last. Extended family will get theirs after my household is all taken care of. Gotta take care of my babies first. 😌

04338868-2DBC-47B1-B73C-60B326D5E52E.jpeg

I really like how the brim of the hats turned out. I like that they’re stretchy and will give some room. These kids grow SO fast so we gotta have some stretch.

This blue one is for my eldest daughter (age 11), it’s her favorite color. We haven’t gotten her winter coat yet but it doesn’t matter because she would still want blue whether it matched or not. 😄

0D07593C-2126-4FCB-869C-E432CF797A22.jpeg

This pink one is for my three year old. We both have the same favorite color. This color matches her winter coat so well and I’m really excited to get it done for her.

I decided to make both girls the same hat and all the boys the same hat but just different colors. They don’t mind and think it would be fun having similar hats. Yes, so much easier on me and less time trying to find different ones for everyone.

You get this hat, you get this hat and YOU get this hat! Everybody gets this hat!! 🤣


I normally make my own poms poms but this time decided to order some fur ones for my girls. I think they will go great with their hats.

3D4A6844-F7FC-44F3-B1ED-844D4BB4401C.jpeg

I like that they come with strings already attached for sewing in. I’ve seen some really cute custom made ones on Etsy that I might grab for myself too.

Funny Story - This is about my three year old daughter when she looked in the bag and discovered the fury pom poms. 🤣

Daughter: Mama, come here come here!!
Me: What honey?
Daughter: What is that in there?
Me: Those are pom poms for your hat.
Daughter: I’m scared.
Me: Why are you scared?
Daughter: I scared cause they scary.
Me: Oh honey you don’t have to be scared, they are fun for your new hat!
Daughter: Can I see?
Me: Sure.

I take one of the balls out of the bag and put it on her lap…she flips out screaming “agh” and knocks it down 😆. Eventually she was able to hold it and feel how soft it was and see that it was not some type of creature. 😅

Now she asks to hold one everyday just to pet rub it. She’s so hilarious.

Well I’m off to keep working on these hats. I’ll be sure to show you how they turned out. 😉

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.


Thanks for reading,

37F37129-7A52-4791-BCE8-DC09085236AE.png
Logo created by @charsdesign

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency