CROCHET MONOKINI

C5667219-66D5-4F80-AEB6-44C5C940A810L0001.jpeg

Hello everyone, I hope you are all doing great. So, someone recently shared a picture of a monokini with me and asked me to recreate it. Of course I loved the challenge so I decided to honour her request.

It's my first time making a monokini especially with this design, so I just had to work my way through it and hope for the best.

Materials:
Medium weight yarn (I used 100 % acrylic yarn)
3.5mm crochet hook

Terms
DC - double crochet
SC - single crochet

IMG_20210830_071810.jpg

To make the monokini, I started with the panties. Here's a link to a bikini bottom I made. I used the same pattern, However the back of this one is a little bigger than that one because I was following what I saw in the picture, so I made more increases than usual.

After making them I added the straps on all sides before I began making the design. I had to add the straps because the pattern requires me to work on the front straps since the monokini extends to the sides.

IMG_20210830_071913.jpg

To begin I attached my yarn on the 10th chain from the front panel on one side, made 1 DC in that chain, made a shell stitch which is 3DC chain 2 3 DC and continued a sequence of 3 chains skip 2 stitches/chains then SC in the 3rd stitch till I got to the end of the row and ended it with a shell stitch chain 2 and 1 DC in the last chain.

The next row starts with a DC, then continues with 3 chains SC in the exact middle of the chains from the previous row and continues the pattern. At the exact middle of the second row I made a shell stitch and continued with the pattern I started with till the end of the row.

The 3rd row I continued with the same pattern and when I got to the exact middle I did a slip in the shell stitch which consisted of 2 DC Ch 2, 2 DC ch 2, 2 DC chain 2. Then continued with the chain pattern till the end of the row.

IMG_20210830_071750.jpg

The next row is the same pattern and when I got to where I did the split, I made 2 shell stitches separated by a chain 2 space. I repeated this pattern on the 5th row and on the 6th row in the chain 2 space between then I started with the pineapple design in the middle and just continued the pattern till I got to the point where I was left with 1 shell stitch on each side.

IMG_3023.jpeg

Then the upper part consisted of me splitting the shells till I had 5 shells on each side. When I was satisfied with the length, I made the bra cups I needed and attached it to the shells.

IMG_20210830_071829.jpg

At some point while making this I was worried as to how it would turn out but I kept telling myself to trust the process. I'm glad I did because I am happy with the result.

I ended up giving it as a gift to my sister, since it’s more of her size than mine. Here’s the final look, I hope you like it.

4A61C147-73A6-4F75-9041-87CC54BA36ACL0001.jpeg

IMG_8227.JPG

Thanks for stopping by ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency