Crocheted Tote Bag For My Little Lady

20210614_211108_0000.png

More Crochet Projects!

It's Monday! Time to share a new project fresh off the hook. Last week, I shared the second of the crocheted sandals that I have made for my dearies. It seemed that I may have to make for all of us because it just doesn't seem fair that only my husband and Little Man have theirs, right?

In between, I am also working on another project for which I ran out of yarn. Same noobie mistake - I started working on something without having a clear understanding of how much yarn I would require. It happened to me before when I started working on something and had to frog everything and made a scarf instead. I went back to the yarn shop twice without any success. They ran out of stock of the same brand I was using the first time I went back and the next time, they did not have the same color.

Little Miss was with me when I went back the second time around and so I asked her if she'd like to get any yarn for herself. She said she'd like to have a bag and she chose the color she wanted.

She chose a tricolor yarn and I couldn't disagree with the choice. Pastel colors! Why, they're my favorite too. I couldn't wait to start creating this new masterpiece.

Crocheted Tote Bag

I am yet to learn how to make my project without following any tutorial. I also wish to someday make my own pattern. It is still a long way to go before I get to that level. More practice!

After getting the yarn, the next task is to find a pattern that is both beautiful and befitting to my skill level. This tutorial from youtube seems to be the right one for me. Since I am no expert, you would notice that I do not share any detailed tutorials on my posts but I try to share my experience making my projects instead.

To make a sturdy bag, the pattern suggested working on double yarn. Since I only had one skein of the pastel yarn, I decided to make use of other available colors I have that matched with our main yarn just in case I would not have enough.

IMG_20210609_155149.jpg

Working on the rounds.

The project involved working on rounds and I started with a cotton aqua yarn as the base of the bag. The base was three rounds of single crochets and I changed colors when the base started to curving. The following rounds were done with double crochets for 11 rounds.

IMG_20210611_172609.jpgIMG_20210612_175310.jpg

To add accent to the bag (and again since I was worried I may run out of yarn), I made two rounds with old rose and white yarns respectively.

Looking good, looking good! The bag was shaping up quite nicely. It could even stand on its own, something that I look for in a bag. I prefer a bag that doesn't topple over when I put it down.

The bag looked big enough for my girl as I reached round 15. To add extra highlight, round 16 was single crochets using the old rose chunky yarn.

IMG_20210612_175322.jpgIMG_20210612_184328.jpg

The handle.

The bag would have finished faster hadn't I frogged the first rows of one side of the handle. Actually, I only watched the tutorial once and since it was just mainly working around, I managed it quite easily. The handle part came out as a problem since I first made double crochets instead of half double crochets.

From 22 HDC's on the first row of the handle, the count would reduce by two each round until I reach 5 counts from which the length of the handle would be made. Just join the opposite sides and that's it! Our bag is done.

To straighten the edges of the handle, I again single-crocheted along its length.

IMG_20210613_214014.jpg

A Very Happy Little Miss

Little Miss is pleased with her new bag! And oh, of course, I am so proud of me too. LOL.

The color combination turned out beautifully. The solid colors on the handle and the base gave the bag a better look. It suits Little Miss nicely, right?

IMG_20210613_222508_875.jpg

arrliinn footer.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency