Armadillos around Us

The environment in south Florida never ceases to amaze me really. It's a crazy mesh of swamp and beach cooked up with some jerk spice in unbearable humidity, but yes I do love it in all it's craziness. For a while I've been going to parks around the Everglades swamp and one thing I always enjoy watching is any time I can see an armadillo.


Just a couple days ago I saw an armadillo again, and I finally decided to look up what kind it was because I frankly didn't know armadillos could be so common here.

image.png

The specific type I've been seeing is the Nine-Banded Armadillo. They are originally from South America, but migrated up to Mexico then into the US and appeared in Florida around the 1920s. Fun little fact, these guys can't curl up into tight balls and roll away like what we perceive armadillos as doing most of the time. I find them quite cute, they walk along patiently foraging for bugs and seeds; sometimes I've seen them having fun playing in the mud. I don't know too much about these creatures but I'm glad I get to see them.

image.png
image.png
image.png

Source/Extra Reading: https://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/UW456

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency