Anole lizards hanging out in a Mojave Yucca

While I was cutting back an overgrown Jasmine vine, two green lizards (Anolis carolinensis) left it for a near by desert plant. These Yuccas (Yucca schidigera) are right next to the vine, so I guess it was their first choice to flee to. I see these lizards in my garden just about every year, doubt they are the same ones. But this Anole lizard is quite common around where I live. Sometimes I am even lucky enough to see two males fighting with each other.. Alot of head bobbing and showing off their red flap under their chins.

Behind it are some of my spineless cacti (Opuntia Ellisiana) though I think the lizard prefers the deeper places to hide in the Yucca.

They can change colors depending on their environment and even change some pigment in their face when squaring off with a rival lizard. You cannot see it in these images but they have a red sack under their chin that they use as well to deter unwanted guests.

The white stripe going down its back identifies it as a female.

Amazing it blends in so well, these lizards share a few traits with Chameleons. Such as their articulating eyes and their ability to change colors based on their surroundings.

Maybe they will stick around and start eating those nasty Yucca bugs that have filled my Mojave Yuccas. Otherwise I need to start treating them soon with some soap and neem oil.

This lizard would let me get very close to it. The larger of the two seemed not to be very bothered by me.

Though the smaller lizard quickly hid when I got my camera close. Though I did get a couple shots. It retreated deep into the Yucca.

In this last image you can see both of the Anoles if you look close enough. Hope they are doing okay since I removed the Jasmine vine, I do plan on moving it so maybe they will return to their home when it becomes established again and puts out lots of coverage for these lizards to hide in.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency