Finding Helianthus Divaricatus

PXL_20210814_205952690_edited.jpeg

My new find of late in cataloging wild flowers turned out to not be an evasive weed. That's a first for me! This beautiful yellow flower is called the Woodland Sunflower, or Helianthus divaricatus.

PXL_20210814_210022910_edited.jpeg

Unlike the other flowers I've identified this summer, this yellow beauty is actually native to North America. They are typically found in sandy areas of the midwest; Wisconsin is actually home to this perennial plant.

PXL_20210814_210118883_edited.jpeg

As luck would have it, this plant too produces pollen that attracts honey bees, butterflies, and other pollinators. I found this patch of flowers on a sandy embankment overlooking a Mississippi River "lake" on the border of Wisconsin and Minnesota.

PXL_20210814_210125293_edited.jpeg


PXL_20210814_210128812_edited.jpeg

This is another reminder of the beauty of nature. It also was my first "native wildflower" find; thanks to a few books and my luck in identifying it with our National Audobon Society Field Guild to North American Wildflowers, I was able to figure out (I think) what I found. It's pretty close to a Woodland Sunflower, anyway!

PXL_20210814_210018461_edited.jpeg

This one is a great find for me. My method is typically to go for a hike somewhere, find a new plant or flower that I've not really noted before, take a few photos and then head home to research. Most wildflowers I've found and taken photos of I am able to ID in a weed guide; not this one though. As I flipped through that book, I had no luck in finding it...excitement built and I had to move on to another book to find it. Finally, a proper Driftless prairie type wildflower. Success!

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my #amazingnature find. Hopefully more of these discoveries to come soon!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency