Amazing Nature Contest: Cat Igloo

This is my entry into the #amazingnature contest hosted by @adalger. It’s about the amazing nature of a stray cat to find an unusual place to keep warm in freezing weather.

A feral cat, I named Friday, hangs around my back deck but is still afraid and will not let me close to him (or her).

Friday on the deck railing being curious of what is going on in the house. My two inside cats, Red and Sunday often watch him from the kitchen window.



C793392847384C66BBED3BF1E0A06883.jpeg



When I first saw Friday he looked to be a young cat probably abandoned near the house and found the way to the back deck. He was so hungry I saw him nibbling on the bread I left outside for the birds. I toss out seeds, peanuts and bread each morning for my feathered friends.

Friday doesn’t seem to bother the birds, just watches them. The blue jays would put up a fight but the little chickadees might not have a chance if he wanted to make a meal of one.

Once I knew Friday was staying around, I left cat food in a dish on the deck for him and would call him. He would let out a little cry and eat the food after I went back inside the house.




3F6EFB9896D14E09BDA28EB394893F4B.jpeg



After the first heavy snowfall Friday went missing. I mentioned this to @johannpiber and @agmoore and they thought the cat would return.

The temperature was below freezing and colder at night. I wondered if a coyote had got him but eventually he showed up again. I leave him cat food and warm milk each morning and he has made himself comfortable on the deck in what I call Friday’s igloo.

It doesn’t look like an neat rounded igloo made by an Eskimo but it would serve the same purpose...to keep Friday warm in the cold weather.

The Cat Igloo


CE2833A7C0ED4DEC9002BB28E6AD4B08.jpeg


How the igloo came about

After the last snowfall, Hubby was busy snowblowing the driveway and I helped by shovelling the snow off the back deck, leaving the snow by the barbecue as it was heavy. I’m so happy I left the pile of snow as Nature made a shelter for the little cat.

Friday goes in and out the opening in the igloo and stays the cold winter nights in there. His little paw prints can be seen around the opening.


082AC7E874894C26B4BCA03A179DE446.jpeg



Rather than take the steps this is the route he takes, through the railings, to reach the igloo.



DEA50732150D431D8AB84DEFC4BB4D43.jpeg



Friday appears happy and content living on the deck and by the time the igloo melts the weather will be much warmer.


E4621326D0F6477384D7AE365C71661E.jpeg


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Photos & Text @redheadpei.

Check @adalger’s post Here for information on submitting an entry


2B49B85BBB104059A5BA62E3302F27A0.png
Banner created by @barbara-orenya


aisrfr.png
Banner created by @barbara-orenya



2B3A5901C9DD406DBD28F272D57E16E6.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
45 Comments
Ecency