Bird Migration - My entry to thematic challenge in Amazing Nature Comunity

Hello there,

Have you checked the latest thematic challenge in Amazing Nature Comunity? Here is the link. This week @bucipuci challenges us with BIRD MIGRATION.

This is the time for the birds from the Northern hemisphere to leave us. Me, being so fortunate to live on one of the main routes, called Via Pontica, have the chance to observe and photograph flocks of storks and pelicans along with some raptors.

I will start with the latest photos that I took few days ago. The flock of white pelicans was seen from my balcony and they were flying in their typical V formation. However, the image below is from the moment when they possibly use the thermals and the formation has changed. Anyways, it is very distinctive shape and I cannot be mistaken what the birds are.

PSX_20210930_171819.jpg

Next shot may give you an idea about the formation and I did not crop and zoom it intentionally. It was late afternoon and hubby told me he saw during the day another four flocks of pelicans.

PSX_20210930_204906.jpg

And here is another flock I saw earlier, in much better day.

PSX_20210930_210239.jpg

The pelicans were on the move later than the storks. The latter began to gather in August of what I have observed, although some may started earlier, because there are storks in Northern Europe who were passing by over my country. Others, who nested in Bulgaria definetely were on the move in August. There are many who prefer to build their nests in the villages and it is very easy to monitor them, including the live cams that were installed next to some nests. Both pelicans and storks can be seen flying low and then we can make the best shots. When they are very high, I can only watch them gliding and enjoy the view.

I have posts about the stork flocks and I don't want to repeat the same images. Interesting enough to mention that we were seeing the storks every day for more than a month and the flocks were huge, enormous amount of birds has passed by and seemed they were countless.

Now let me show you how marvellous the sight of flying storks above my head was.

PSX_20210930_211013.jpg

PSX_20210930_211138.jpg

PSX_20210930_211254.jpg

PSX_20210930_211425.jpg

Migratory birds cover extremely long distances. Some of them are following straight line, like the raptors, others like the storks, seem to have more chaotic route. This was observed by using tracking devices on some birds and thus following them all the way.

I mentioned in the beginning and I did also in my previous posts about Via Pontica. There are two main migratory routes in Europe, the second one is called Via Aristotelis. Eastern part of Bulgaria is a stop over spot for many birds and what I see from my home is just a small fraction of that major route. I also mentioned raptors as they too are moving south, but I haven't got decent photos of them. They were too high and it was amazing to see about dozen and more buzzards soaring. The other birds I spotted were the bee-eaters, who can be first heard and then seen. The small birds are real challenge, the sawllows and house martins have gone and they just disappeared. The nightingale who I have the pleasure to see growing from a fledgling, also has gone. It is kinda sad feeling, but at the same time I know that with the first days of the spring our feathered friends will be back.

I hope I can see more birds on their way to the warmer places and who knows I may have a chance to make some photos.


You can find me at noise.cash - https://noise.cash/u/JustNeli


AmBan.jpg

aisrfr.png

80pli5.png

banners created by @barbara-orenya

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for viewing

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

signature_2.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency