Amazing Nature Contest : Toads that takes the chamber in a banana stem

IMG_7746.JPG

I just found out about it. Honestly it did surprise me. I never imagined that frogs could live in banana stems. I thought it must be dangerous for them, because banana stems could be cut at any moment with a machete, and it might hit them by accident. But what can I do, I see they are happy to live there. But well, this story about which surprised me, I started from the beginning.

One morning, and it was raining the night before that morning. I then thought, what might I get if I go to a garden area where cultivated plants grow together with bushes that must have been wet by last night's rain. So, I got there, which is a densely vegetated area near the Aceh river in Sumatra.

IMG_7605.JPG

IMG_7609.JPG

IMG_7620.JPG

Well, apparently the first thing I saw was a spider that looked like it was carrying an insect, maybe, some kind of beetle, in its mouth. That seems like a nice catch in the early morning!

I continued to walk in the area, and as usual, butterflies and dragonflies flew to and fro, and the aroma of the coffee blossoms gave off a fragrance and attracted the insects.

IMG_7649.JPG

IMG_7793.JPG

IMG_7801.JPG

IMG_7805.JPG

IMG_7816.JPG

On the ground, above the splintered wood of a felled tree, very tiny mushrooms were seen growing in clusters. Their caps are cup-like, or rather, as their famous name suggests, bird's nest fungi, due to their fruiting bodies resembling a bird's nest filled with eggs, and they belong to the Nidulariaceae, a family in the order Agaricales. (Source: Nidulariaceae)

IMG_7666.JPG

IMG_7670.JPG

IMG_7673.JPG

Around them, I also took pictures of vines that seemed to be "passing" in front of me. And nearby there was a yellow wild berry being swarmed by little ants. Everything looked wet from last night's rain.

IMG_7689.JPG

IMG_7696.JPG

One step later, still on the ground, suddenly saw some fungus with beautiful fruit bodies and looked very smooth. They appear to be short-lived adult Coprinopsis lagopus, or Hare's foot inkcap. (Source: Coprinopsis lagopus).

IMG_7735.JPG

IMG_7699.JPG

IMG_7720.JPG

That was all before I saw an Amphidromus, an arboreal snail (tree snail) walking on a banana stem. A little note: the banana stem that we see is actually a pseudo stem which is formed from leaf midribs that enlarge and pinnate in a solid arrangement so that it looks like a stem. Since they are actually leaf midribs, they can peel off or open up and create a kind of cavity where animals like tree snails can take shelter in them. When the tree snail looked like it was about to enter the cavity, I opened the banana stem, and then I was surprised by several toads that actually lived in there. The place was damp and looked watery, especially after last night's rain. That's probably why they like living there. Some of them immediately shifted to a lower place when I opened the midrib of the banana stem.

IMG_7743.JPG

IMG_7748.JPG

IMG_7749.JPG

IMG_7751.JPG

IMG_7745.JPG

I think it is an arboreal toad, Rentapia hosi, which is found in Southeast Asia, among others, in Sumatra. This toad is also known, among others, by the common tree toad, Malayan brown toad, brown tree toad in the Bufonidae family. (Source: Rentapia hosii).

The place where I found it was an area with dense vegetation in the lowlands of a river in Aceh. Glad to have found it for the first time for me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency