Summer

Each of us has preferences, things he likes, and the opposite. Each of us has a favorite food, a favorite drink, a favorite actor, or a favorite season.

Regarding the seasons, there are many, many of us who have the same preferences. That, of course, because we are many, enormously many and the seasons are only four.

My favorite season is summer! Without the possibility of making mistakes and even if sometimes we betray our first love. For me, summer is the first option.

When it comes to love and passion, our choices probably have their roots in childhood. I thought and realized that this is so. The first part of my childhood, before going to school, I spent with my grandparents, in the country, away from my parents. That was no drama, my childhood was wonderful. I can say that then I loved all the seasons almost as much but for the summer I had a plus. Because I spent all day in the fields and hills around the village, with many friends of the same age, I preferred summer because then the day was the longest. From 8 in the morning until 10 in the evening I was a free child.

In summer I did not need many clothes, I found food in orchards and fields, water at springs and ponds. I was twinned with nature, I learned to see and know plants, insects, and animals. To look at the starry sky at midnight. It was the most beautiful part of my life. That's why summer is my favorite season.

After I started going to school, in the city on the other side of the country, summer was, now, even more, my favorite season. Because I also spent the long summer vacation with my grandparents.

As we well know, everything that is good and beautiful passes quickly, so childhood is far behind, only summer love has remained just as ... burning!

My childhood was gone, as were my grandparents and my life moved to the city. In a city full of concrete and glass, summer is harder to bear, but I didn't stop out of my love for it. Because now summer means for me a vacation at the sea. I look forward to the end of spring and the signs of summer every year.

Nature gives me the signal to go to sea. The signs that the time has come for the sea are, for me, wild poppies! Because the roadsides and wheat fields are full of poppies when we go to sea. So I'm like Pavlov's dog, if I see poppies blooming my instinct immediately tells me I have to go to sea ...

img_20150613_093015.jpg

img_20150613_092813.jpg

img_20150613_092807.jpg

The real summer, the strong and masterful one, is represented by a few things. The wheat fields, the wild poppies, the almost unbearable heat that you feel overwhelm you when you are on a field where there is no shadow, and the sound of locusts rubbing their wings. A sharp sound that pierces the ears, from morning until evening.

On the way to the sea, I always look for the longest road and on the secondary roads, among the wheat fields. Because for me, the road is part of the vacation, it is part of the summer ...

img_20150613_092855.jpg

img_20150613_100322.jpg

img_20150613_092823.jpg

img_20150613_092830.jpg

But summer does not only mean sun, clear skies, and stifling heat. Summer also means sudden storms, short and heavy rains that suddenly wet and wash away the dust and perspiration on us. Storms that cool us and frighten us with their beauty.

img_20150614_155422.jpg

img_20150614_163017.jpg

This is my summer! The road to the sea, a journey I dreamed of as soon as winter passes.

xett.png

The photos used are taken from Dobrogea, a region in southeastern Romania. The road to the Black Sea in Bulgaria.

xett.png

Post made for Qurator's Photo Quest | Summer

xett.png

111.jpg

xett.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency