The Careless and Caring Campers

20211009_164755.jpg

šŸ˜•Forgiveness is one of my greatest strengths, and yet today as I walked the free campsites along this forest road I noticed my mind cursing at those that left behind so much trash.

Did they not come here for the beauty?

Is it too much to just take your own trash with you so that the forest remains beautiful and we get to keep camping for free?

At two campsites the fire pits were even left smoldering, with a wind advisory of up to 55 mph gusts. How many devastating forest fires are needed to prompt a little care just to make sure the fire is drowned out?

I just don't get it.

But then, how many times have others looked at my actions and thought the same thing?

How many careless things have I done?

Countless.

I'm sorry for all of those times that I acted in ignorance or unconsciously in the past.

And I'll probably do it again.

Please forgive me.

So, I use my own water supply to douse the fire next to my site and large stones to cover the other that's much farther away.

I picked up bags of trash knowing that it will not be so easy for me to dispose of it as a full-time nomad. I'll have to go out of my way to do so.

But, I am learning more about waste management on the road, and the maven in me likes that part.

And I do like seeing myself as a steward of Mother Earth.

I'm thankful I have the capability to take care of these things.

I'm grateful for the other camper I met nearby who shared how much garbage he had removed, and for the many others on YouTube that are encouraging others to take care of these places.

I'm thankful for the opportunity to be here.

The wind is whipping through the trees and the leaves are dancing; and I am at peace.

May we all be well and peaceful.

~April S



P.S. I'm new to Hive so please help me out if you can in whatever way is appropriate. I'm just learning the ropes. :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency