Red Rowan

Hello, my friends.



Yesterday I showed and told about the chokeberry. This berry does not grow in our forests or meadows. Maybe in other countries it can be seen growing wild, but in our region it grows only in gardens. This is a cultural tree, so to speak, not a wild plant.
But in our region you can find a lot of Russian grapes - Red Rowan.


20210926_5.jpg
I have always believed that the chokeberry came from the red mountain ash, that it is practically a mother and daughter. But I was wrong. Although these berries are somewhat similar, and even in Russian they have almost the same name, but it turns out they are very distant relatives who live a parallel life.


20210926_3.jpg
Last year, this berry was almost not visible, and this year there are a lot of rowan. Almost every private house has a tree with burning berries. This is the most beautiful tree in our cities and villages at this time of year.
People practically do not collect these berries to eat. Because it has a strong bitter taste. But if you know how to cook it properly, it will be very tasty.


20210929_3.jpg
So, the very first thing. Rowan can be dried. This means that in winter you can add it to compotes, you can add it when cooking pies.
As a child, I cooked jam from this berry. It can be very thick and has a bittersweet taste.
You will laugh, but the pie made from this bitter berry was called "sweet pie"by my mother.


20210926.jpg
Like chokeberry, these berries are very fond of eating fieldfare and waxwing. They fly to the trees in whole flocks when frosts come. In a matter of minutes, they eat almost all the berries from the tree. Why do birds like these bitter berries? In fact, the berries become sweet when they freeze. Some tricky chemical processes start the process of sugar production, the berries begin to ferment and alcohol is produced.


20210926_1.jpg
In the spring of last year, I cut down an old large rowan tree on my plot. It gave a large shadow on the plot and prevented apple and pear trees from growing.
This year, new shoots appeared in place of the stump, I think that in 2 or 3 years there will be berries on the tree again.
In the meantime, I used a neighbor's tree for a photo shoot.


20210926_6.jpg
There are many young rowan trees growing in the forest behind my plot. The birds ate the rowan on my big tree, flew into the forest and emptied their stomachs on the way. The seeds of the berries fell to the ground and sprouted. Soon there will be a lot of large rowan trees in the forest. It will be a great joy for the birds.


20210926_7.jpg
See. In the center there is a mahogany tree - this is a rowan tree. There are green pines around, and a yellow aspen is visible behind. On the right front there is a small oak tree. Oak grows slowly, aspen grows at a high speed.


20210926_1.jpg
I won't even tell you about the fact that red rowan is a whole storehouse of vitamins and micro - macroelements. I think that, friends, you yourself know this.


Some more photos of rowan bunches.
20190921_083202744_ios.jpg


20190921_083157340_ios.jpg


20190921_060926736_ios.jpg


People, take care of Nature, our mother.
20210926_3.jpg

I add my beloved @archon community as a 5% beneficiary of the post.

I add my beloved @ru-trail community as a 5% beneficiary of the post.



imagehive1.png


Thanks for reading...

Follow Me For Daily Posts!

@apnigrich

Good luck and have fun

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency