Friday Market: annual gathering at my friends’ house, ไปงานทำบุญบ้านเพื่อน

Life has been quite stressful these days with a new lockdown and useless measures against the pandemic which seem to cause more suffering on people and small vendors. However, there has been a recent grouping of Thais and expats who have been doing independent research on COVID pandemic via a Telegram channel. This has become a source for keeping up with new information and suppressed scientific news on the matter. Traveling around is much more restricted as curfew starts at 9pm. Many bank branches are closed so life has more complication and burden. I just had a nice conversation with an old friend which reminded me that I owed her a story on the annual gathering at her house earlier this year.

img_9582.jpg

img_9595.jpg

img_9570.jpg

Time passed by too fast and I kept hoping to catch up with unfinished tasks the following day, but the day just kept slipping away silently. I told myself I had to do this post today or there would be no sleep for me. So, I started reminiscing about that warm summer day. My old college-friend invited me to her family home to join in the annual gathering for a Buddhist ceremony. This ceremony was performed by nine monks chanting a series of auspicious prayers to bless everyone and to send good vibes or merits to all ancestors’ spirits.

img_9561.jpg

img_9563.jpg

Traditionally, most Thai families would ask monks to perform a Buddhist ceremony for giving merits (the results of good karma or charitable acts) to their ancestors. Chinese families also have special days for visiting the cemetery to perform similar ceremonies. For Thai families, all the urns would be placed on a table by the Buddha shrine next to the monks. People believe that those ancestral spirits could come to listen to the chanting so that they would gain more energy and merits for a speedy reincarnation.

img_9573.jpg

img_9572.jpg

img_9568.jpg

I used to think that dead people’ spirits would reincarnate after fifty days to about a year. According to Tibetan’s Book of the Dead, a spirit or soul has to go through three ‘bados’ or three transitions before being on the way to reincarnation. But things happened to alter my previous knowledge as I happened to be involved in some tasks on behalf of my dead ancestors many years after their passing away. So, i was quite curious about my friend’s annual gathering for a formal ceremony for all her families’ ancestors.

img_9567.jpg

img_9566.jpg

img_9565.jpg

Her house and the whole area used to be a small village in the suburb of Bangkok with a canal running along the back of the house. People in this cluster of houses are related since the old days. So, on that day many relatives who had moved away came to participate in this annual gathering. They were over fifty people at the ceremony. Many people could not make it as they now lived in far away provinces and could not take days off.

img_9592.jpg

img_9593.jpg

I had no idea that my friend has so many relatives who live in small houses tucked away in this narrow alley. I felt as if I was walking in a small village as all the houses were built in the same compound with a big main gate. There must be almost ten houses in that area. There were young people walking about and elderly ladies preparing food for the party. Everyone seemed to be busy preparing for the gathering. My friend disappeared somewhere to do her job. So, I was left to wander around by myself.

img_9597.jpg

img_9591.jpg

I gingerly walked around some old houses and observed elderly ladies cooking very special curry to be eaten with thin rice noodles. My wish had come true; I was thinking about where I could find authentic traditional curry called ‘kanom jean nam pink’. We could not find this in any restaurants or market as the recipe and ingredients were quite demanding and complicated. I was glad I decided to accept my friend’s invitation!

img_9576.jpg

img_9590.jpg

These folks reminded me of simple villagers in the countryside; they laugh and smile so easily. I felt like a futuristic stranger among people belonging to long forgotten tradition and value systems. I couldn’t talk about blockchain, Bitcoin or artificial intelligence to these kind and friendly people. I could not explain to them about mRNA jabs or the possibility of economic collapse later this year. But that empty time warp gave me a nice respite from the burden of my knowledge. Life was quiet and peaceful for me that day. I enjoyed taking photos of flowers and plants. The Buddhist ceremony in the afternoon was very soothing as the chanting tones were very musical and cheerful.

img_9577.jpg

img_9580.jpg

I did ask for permission before taking photos of the ancestry urns. All the families presented their ancestors’ urns on the table; some were almost two hundred years old heirloom. I wondered whether all these old spirits were all reincarnated; then an old thin Chinese man appeared beside me briefly. Several land spirits also joined in the chanting ceremony. They were pleased to witness this Buddhist ceremony.

img_9574.jpg

img_9588.jpg

img_9583.jpg

My friend told me that she couldn’t organise such ceremony during the last two years. She believed that brought bad luck to some people in the families. I told her I saw one of her ancestors and later I forwarded the ‘energy or vibes’ which was flowing during the ceremony. She was sensitive enough to feel it up her spine and shivered s few times. Her expression was quite funny. So, I knew I was there for a reason; my friend needed the reassurance.

img_9601.jpg

img_9605.jpg

img_9609.jpg

I found the old custom of pouring water over the monks’ hands while asking for their blessing very amusing. I was tempted to pour water over the monk similar to pouring water over the Buddha statues. Luckily I did ask the monk for permission; the monk told me that should be done at the temple as they would all be dripping wet. I couldn’t help wanting to be mischievous sometimes.

img_9603.jpg

img_9606.jpg

After the monks left the house, all the ‘villagers’ got together for a nice buffet dinner. I did enjoy three big plates of rice noodles with special curry and fried vegetables. People gathered in groups as this was a yearly reunion for distant relatives who rarely had the opportunity to meetup like this. As I had lost most of my old Chinese relatives and had very few contemporary relatives, this big gathering reminded me of my childhood when I was surrounded by many relatives and family members. My friend is so lucky to live in close proximity with several of her relatives. These people are like protective wall in times of trouble; this whole area is really like a tribe of people who are would be looking after each other’s back.

img_9608.jpg

img_9607.jpg

img_9619.jpg

ช่วงนี้เราค่อนข้างจะเครียดเพราะ การล็อกดาวน์ค่อนข้างนาน และทำให้คนเดือดร้อนมากขึ้น การเดินทางตอนเย็นก็ลำบาก เราเห็นคนยืนคอยรถเมล์แล้วก็มึน ว่ากำหนดเวลาสองทุ่มเป็นเคอร์ฟิวได้ไง สี่ทุ่มก็ยังเร็วไป กว่าคนจะรอรถเมล์และต่อรถ ต่อเรือและมอเตอร์ไซค์ กว่าจะถึงบ้านก็เกือบห้าทุ่มแล้ว เราเซ็งที่วัดและพิพิธภัณฑ์ก็ปิดอีก เราก็อดไปเที่ยวด้วย วันนี้เราโทรคุยกับเพื่อนเก่า ตอนนี้เขากำลังปลูกต้นกุหลาบเต็มบ้านเลย เราก็คิดถึงเรื่องที่ต้องเขียนเกี่ยวกับงานทำบุญประจำปีที่บ้านเพื่อน วันนี้เราจึงบอกให้ตัวเองเขียนสักที ห้ามผลัดผ่อนเวลาแล้ว เราก็เริ่มเขียนเรื่องงานที่บ้านเพื่อน ซึ่งเราได้รับเชิญไปร่วมงานด้วย

img_9620.jpg

img_9621.jpg

img_9623.jpg

เราจึงมีโอกาสได้เห็นชีวิตความเป็นอยู่ ของคนในท้องถิ่นนั้นที่เขาอยู่กันแบบหมู่บ้านเล็กๆมาตั้งแต่สมัยก่อน คนที่นี่อยู่กันมาหลายรุ่นแล้ว ทุกคนรู้จักกันหมด บ้านเพื่อนอยู่ในซอยแคบๆ แต่ถ้าเดินเข้าไปจะเจอบ้านแบบโบราณเรียงราย อยู่ข้างในอีกเกือบสิบหลัง คนที่นี่เขาเป็นญาติกันหมดเลย ครอบครัวจึงอบอุ่น และมีขนาดใหญ่เกินร้อยคน เราได้เดินเล่นถ่ายรูปต้นไม้ดอกไม้ และดูผู้สูงอายุเตรียมอาหารสำหรับเลี้ยงพระ ที่จะมาทำพิธีสวดมนต์ในตอนบ่าย เราเห็นเขาทำขนมจีนน้ำพริกแบบโบราณแล้ว ดีใจมากที่จะได้กินอาหารโปรดที่ไม่ได้กินมานาน เดี๋ยวนี้หาคนทำขนมจีนนํ้าพริกสูตรโบราณแทบไม่ได้แล้ว คนที่ทำเป็นแก่ตายไปหมด เราก็จองไว้ด้วยสายตาทีเดียว

img_9627.jpg

img_9628.jpg

img_9629.jpg

คนในบ้านต่างก็ช่วยกันเตรียมสถานที่ และทำอาหารไว้เลี้ยงญาติๆ ที่เดินทางมาจากต่างจังหวัด บางคนย้ายไปทำงานและอยู่ไกลมาก เขาก็ไม่สามารถลางานมาได้ คนที่มาได้ก็นั่งจับกลุ่มกับญาติที่ไม่ได้เจอกันมานาน ปีนี้เพื่อนบอกว่าจัดงานแบบปุบปับ ไม่งั้นจะมีคนเดินทางมาอีกหลายคน คนที่บ้านไปรับพระสงฆ์มาจากวัดใกล้ๆ ทุกบ้านก็เอาโกษฐ์มาวางที่โต๊ะเพื่อเป็นการทำบุญให้บรรพบุรุษด้วย เขาเก็บเป็นทอดมาเกินร้อยปีทีเดียว

img_9631.jpg

img_9635.jpg

เขาส่งรถไปรับพระสงฆ์มาเก้ารูป ทุกคนในบ้านก็เข้าประจำที่นั่ง และมีคนอาราธนาศีลเพื่อพระสงฆ์เริ่มสวดมนต์ เราเห็นคนที่นั่นส่วนมากจะเป็นญาติผู้สูงอายุ เด็กน้อยมีอยู่ไม่กี่คน เพราะ สมัยนี้คนไม่ชอบมีลูกหลายคนเหมือนสมัยก่อน ซึ่งเราคิดว่าเขาคิดผิดมาก นี่เป็นความคิดของฝรั่งที่ไม่อยากให้คนชาติอื่นๆมีจำนวนมากกว่าคนของตนเอง เรามารู้ความจริงก็เมื่อได้มาค้นหาข้อมูลเรื่องแผนการล่าอาณานิคมแบบใหม่ ตอนพระพรมนํ้ามนต์ สนุกมาก ทุกคนกรูเข้าหาพระกัน เสื้อเปียกกันเป็นแถว แล้วมีการสรงนํ้าพระด้วยการรดนํ้าที่มือของพระด้วย งานนี้เราขอสรงน้ำแบบจริงจังเลย แต่พระท่านบอกว่าโยมต้องไปสรงน้ำแบบนั้นที่วัด เพราะที่นี่จะทำให้พระเปียกปอนกันหมด พิธีเสร็จแล้วก็มีคนไปส่งพระกลับวัดดังเดิม บรรยากาศในงานคึกคักมาก

img_9650.jpg

img_9652.jpg

img_9648.jpg

พวกคนที่มาพบปะสังสรรค์กันก็เริ่มงานปาร์ตี้ มีการตั้งวงกินข้าวและเสวนากันตามกลุ่มอายุ เขาเตรียมอาหารเองหลายอย่าง เช่นขนมจีนน้ำพริก ก๋วยเตี๋ยวหมู และมีการสั่งอาหารอีกหลายอย่าง อาหารมีเหลือเฟือจน ทุกคนได้อาหารโปรดของตนเองกลับบ้านไปคนละสองสามถุง งานแบบนี้เป็นสิ่งที่มีค่ามาก ทำให้คนที่หายไปนาน หายไปไกล ก็ได้กลับมาหาญาติพี่น้อง มาร่วมกันทำบุญให้บรรพบุรุษ และเป็นการทำให้ครอบครัวมีความสัมพันธ์ที่แน่นแฟ้นด้วย การมีครอบครัวใหญ่ที่เข้มแข็งน่าจะเป็นเกราะกำปัง และป้องกันอันตรายให้กันเองได้หากมีความวุ่นวายเกิดขึ้นในสังคมในอนาคต

img_9612.jpg

img_9797.jpg

img_9578.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

#marketfriday created by @dswigle.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency