This is Your Brain On Birthday Suits

I'm not a big fan of the alphanumeric identity attached to our Hive identity. And another thing. I overcame my fear of saying Penis in public yesterday by consuming this content and that's when it came up—reputation. I said something to extent of the opening sentence in this content in the comment section of that content to which my balls were handed to me:

I read your post where you were striving for a reputation of 69:)

Hey!! 'Easy @Natord! How dare you use my own verbiage against me like an irrational blogger.' I had to explain myself, 'number not status.'

CA2B3FAD-5804-4993-86C0-8A118C353B22.jpeg

I'm unsure what if anything a statue of a seal has in common with reputation or status other than statue and status are one letter off. To the best of my knowledge, none. The seal's been idling in my photo album since I don't know when and what's that? Another one? Ok. But only because the first was a leaping success.

B4DF4053-24DB-4B64-AB72-9F47C839CF3E.jpeg

I never really noticed. Reputations, remember? Hashtag Easy2forget. Up until a few weeks ago I had to intentionally click an authors profile pic which then directed me to their homepage where only there could I see their reputation. If I looked. No one cares about a homepage, you know as much about mine as I do yours. Only person paying attention to a homepage is the author of that page. So I guess if there's going to be a reputation, at least it's placed where the consumer can ignore it.

I'm an @ecency user, 95% of this I do there. @good-karma is the developer who's not only involved with the community but he's got a suggestion box, too, listens to users and has a record response time. Recently I asked if he could add a feature that would allow us to manually select our cover image rather than automatically identify our first photo as the cover. A few days ago I was told the next update will include that.

The most recent update, however, has a feature I don't like at all. Not even a little bit. We talked about that too. I'm told the next one will include a toggle to turn these numbers off:

14446D29-FBF8-491A-B774-F5C3B102816D.jpeg

Now I have no choice—reputation front and center lower left. I'm forced to wonder why Boomy's at a 25 today when I'd rather not. Profile pictures are attached to a content producer, they chose that image, it's how a consumer identifies them on pages other than their own. Reputations up close and personal like that do a couple things, none good. Damage a profile pic's integrity is one. High numbers could be intimidating is another. What do you think?

Maybe I'm overthinking it. I'm good at that. Are rep scores important to you or do you try to ignore them too? Do I identify easier with that number front and lower left or would you rather get to know the picture I show you?

Like the one that says save this date. DanDays - The Luckiest Guy I Know celebrates this day annually. His day. Mine. 'Mios.' Not my blockchain birthday, either, my earth birthday. It was a Sunday that day when I was Zero and priceless.

CCA027CC-C647-4DD6-8058-B811DB12255D.jpeg

FAC9D1F02A3847C8B80EA048A93E898A.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
238 Comments
Ecency