Grain Run, Writing, Bread, Bagging Chard, Batch 75 Finished - Tuesday

Yesterday morning first thing I was out the door and on my way to town for grain. I stopped and loaded 2 barrels onto the trailer at the brewery then headed downtown to the smaller one to drop a couple of empties. It's so nice driving before 6am as there is zero traffic to contend with and generally zero cops out.

IMG_20221115_052751_HDR.jpg

It was any everyone morning for soaking as both boys made it out.

IMG_20221115_062446_HDR.jpg

The first part of my morning I spent working on Duolingo and Mimo lessons for Spanish and Python before taking time to go empty the 2 barrels and let the birds out for the day.

IMG_20221115_085434_HDR.jpg

The whole middle of my day was spent writing. For the day I managed over 2700 words and am almost back to my main character.

I picked the boys up from school and once home they dove into the remains of the loaf of bread I had made for the stuffing , so at that I got another loaf going in the bread machine. It's getting to the point whee I will likely be needing to make a loaf every couple of days and before long it will be a loaf a day as these two get bigger. Then it will be a loaf each per day and I will have to turn the house into a bakery to keep the beasts, er boys, fed.

IMG_20221115_150147_HDR.jpg

The chard from batch 74 was in big bags and needed to be put into mylar so I set about getting them filled then sealed. 4 bags ended up being stem slices while on was a mix. They all got sealed and are in the basement awaiting a clean tub today.

IMG_20221115_164517_HDR.jpg

Our cat is in heaven once again. He has his perch back over a working fireplace. In the first couple years we owned our house I built the cat ramps all through the house which much of has become a shelf. Since I got the fireplace going again I had to clear the section over it off and he now has his basking spot back.

IMG_20221115_192546_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221115_192557_HDR.jpg

Went out to soak but I was out before 9pm as I wanted to get some more words written.

IMG_20221115_195558_HDR.jpg

But when I went in and checked the freeze dryer it was on extended dry which I stopped and upon checking the trays they were all well done. 4 trays of chard and one tray of celery.

IMG_20221115_210013_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221115_210018_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221115_210022_HDR.jpg

The chard got bagged in one big bag but the celery I split up into tops and stems and there is a hug difference in wright between them. The tops are going to go to making celery salt which @goldenoakfarm made not too long ago and made me realize how easy it is and how much can be made at once.

I let the machine defrost overnight and I just looked and it is all drained.

IMG_20221115_210028_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221115_210155_HDR.jpg

Today I have to change the oil in the freeze dryer pump then batch 76 goes in first thing this morning. I have my laundry to wash, my tote of chicken feed will be in and I will pick it up then shovel the 1000 pounds into barrels and bags, then the boys have cub scouts this evening.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get RBN

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency