The Weekend Getaway Essentials

The things that are worth going against what I preach and practice



IMG_20210913_100327.jpg

Even when I subscribe to the idea of minimalist and essentials packing, sometimes I still fall into an over-packing habit. There are some essentials that I can not miss when going away from my comfort zone. And today I will tell you what are those essentials that it’s worth going against what I preach and practice.

For a rule of thumb, I pack very light. I am often found traveling with just a mini backpack filled with a few items of clothing, laptop and gadgets. As long as I have my laptop, I feel safe and sound. I am not worried if I don’t have shampoo, soap, mascara, or even a pair of socks because I can buy them or get them for free(not entirely free but yeah).

In the past, there was nothing called the weekend getaway. It was mostly a month traveling here, a few weeks there. It was disorganized traveling where I let my heart decide where to go. But as I grow up, I learn that it’s better to have a plan and more certainty when it comes to traveling. Hence comes the idea of the weekend getaway which I just recently started too.

A few months ago, I was traveling a few days with my cousin and my mom. From that travel, I learned some important things that I never experienced before. And that is, never travel without a pouch filled with essential medicine.

So, that is first, the essentials that I carry these days during my getaway. Even if I am just away for two days, having that medicine pouch is life saving. I can no longer chug a beer and not have any side effects the next day or eat something spicy just accidentally. On my last trip, I had to check out from the hostel early because I was having excruciating pain after chugging a beer, eating cubanos and biting a few paprikas.That was a total nightmare.

Then, another more item that I carry is my skin care. These days, I try to have some skin care routine as I want my skin to look healthier and remove my under-eye bag. A few months prior, I was a total nightowl that I didn’t get to sleep and stayed awake the whole night. It had some lasting effect that I am working on to fix.

Books are also essentials. Though removing more space in my bag, I can not travel without any books. I like to read when I am bored and trying to stay away from the screen. In the past, I only brought one but these days, I bring more books just in case I finish it too early.

And now, since it’s the pandemic, I can not forget the covid-19 kit that I have including alcohol wipes, hand sanitizer and masks. Without these, I don’t really feel safe going outside and mingling with others. Though this is also something that I brought in the past too.

Those are the essentials that I bring on my weekend trip and something I can’t live without. Do you have any essentials that you can’t live without during your trip? Share your story below!



Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a content creator that covers literature, books, technology, philosophy, nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency