My Hung Vegetable Village // Ladies of Hive Contest #46

What was the best thing about the place where you grew up?
My Hung vegetable village

In response to the answer: The best thing about the place where I grew up of Ladies of Hive Contest this week, invited by my dear friend @trangbaby.

I was born and grew up in the poor countryside. That is a white sand area full of windy and sunny. The white sandbanks spread to the horizon, sparkling in the sunlight. Those are the beautiful bands of color in my memory.

image.png

image.png

Src

White sand soils are amongst the most infertile of the generally infertile tropical soils. It doesn't hold water well and has few nutrients because it is composed of silica. At that time, everything is undeveloped, the knowledge of the people here is still limited. Therefore, farming and agricultural production were very hard, with low productivity and efficiency. But, the farmers here never accept to give up. And so are my parents. They've always worked hard and endured. Because they know, behind them, there are children and their future. And because agriculture is the main source of income in our village.

Later, thanks to the training courses on agricultural development of the commune. They have found a way to improve the soil, limit the harshness of the weather. Then, they gradually improved the quality of the white sand soil, knew how to choose suitable plant varieties, knew how to take care of plants for good yields. And after so much hard work, their efforts have now paid off, that poor land has become a clean vegetable village according to VIETGAP standard.

image.png

Src

Look at the stretches of white sandy land that day is difficult for anyone to imagine the beautiful green picture of the small countryside today. Now, the People of Quang Nam province, everyone knows about My Hung clean vegetable village. Their customers are restaurants, hotels, supermarkets, and fresh vegetable stores. The farmers here have stabilized their income.
The best thing that I'd love to talk about is the will and enthusiasm of the poor farmers here. They know how to overcome difficulties to enrich their poor land. I respect and love them - the simple and gentle people. I love this land, which is a long stretch of white sandy land. Although it is arid, it is a place full of love. I'm happy and proud of where I was born and grew up.

What are your three favorite scents?

If you ask me: what are my three favorite scents, I will not hesitate to answer. It is the scent of white sand, the scent of green vegetables, and the scent of my paternal grandmother.

Firstly, the scent of white sand.

I like the scent of white sand. It was a part of my childhood. When I was a child, I used to be carried to the market by my paternal grandmother on a pair of small baskets. She put me on one side and the mangoes on the other, so she carried the mangoes with I walked on the road full of white sand. Under the scorching sun of summer days, the scent of white sand hits my nose. It's more intense than ever.

At that time, I had a hobby of lying on the white sandbank by the pond, watching the clouds floating in the sky, and smelling the scent of white sand. It's not only my favorite scent but also one that I appreciate. When suddenly somewhere, in the wind, faintly the smell of sandy soil, the image of my homeland shimmers in my thoughts. For me, it's the scent of my hometown.

image.png

Src

Second, the scent of green vegetables.

When I was seven years old, my parents returned to their hometown after four years of working far away but without success. My parents continued to write their lives on white strips of land. When I was young, I often followed my parents to the garden, helping them to work. The scent of the green vegetable beds surrounds me, blended into my body. I sensed the smell of purity, freshness, and freshness. And hidden deep inside it is the smell of the hardships and hardships of the farmers here. Now, when I return to the place where I was born, Floating in the wind, across my nose, was still the gentle scent of vegetables, but not the taste of hardship. It is the scent of happiness.

image.png

Src

Third, the scent of my paternal grandmother.

Is there anyone here who has ever cuddled up to your paternal grandmother's lap, hugged her to feel the scent emanating from her great love? My childhood imprinted the image of my paternal grandmother with the warm scent from her body. When I was three years old, my parents took my younger brother to a faraway place to do business. In the following days, my paternal grandmother and I depended on each other to live. It was a beautiful time. She taught me to read, draw, and taught me to write poetry. At noons, I often cuddled up to her, listen to her lullaby, and feel her warm scent. That is the fragrance of betel (elders in Vietnam usually chew slices of areca nut wrapped in a betel leaf along with lime). It brings me peace in every sleep.
Those three scents have nurtured my childhood, formed a part of my personality and who I am today. A childhood that I will always cherish.

image.png

Src

Finally, I'd like to thank @trangbaby for inviting me to enjoy this contest. And I also thank you for the exciting questions. I'm impressed with these two questions. It evokes a lot of emotions and good memories in mine.

Thanks for reading my story. Have a fun weekend!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency