Life Lessons - Ladies of Hive Community Contest



Due to wildfires and the general state of the world, I’m having a hard time focusing. I'm supposed to be revising a novel. I haven't been in the right mindset for fiction, but still want to write, so I figured I’d enter the @LadiesofHive community contest.

There's nothing like a bit of truth-telling to satisfy the soul.


taking my heart to the river


This week’s question:

What life lesson did you learn the hard way? How did it alter your perception or attitude?

Heh. Which to choose?

I tend to dive into things wholeheartedly, and only when I’m in waaaay over my head does it hit me that I have no idea what I’m doing, and holy shit how do I get out of this?

Most of the time, the only way out is through.

That’s the life lesson. The universal realization each of us makes on our human journey. It’s a cliché, in a way. A saying we’ve all heard over and over again. But that’s because it proves itself to be true.

The only way out is through.

I can look back and pick out forks in the road where I’ve made decisions that have changed my life, the ones where I’d be an entirely different person if I’d taken the other path. But I’m here. Now. There’s no going back.

The only way out is through.

I’ve made shitloads of mistakes, overthought most of them, rode out countless anxiety attacks…

The only way out is through.

I’ve made wild choices, from ditching school and riding motorcycles to moving to another country and disappearing into the mountains. So many memories, so many adventures.

The thing is, I love who I am.

I’ve chosen a true path.

Does this path have a heart? If it does, the path is good; if it doesn't, it is of no use. Both paths lead nowhere; but one has a heart, the other doesn't. One makes for a joyful journey; as long as you follow it, you are one with it. ― Carlos Castaneda


all is intertwined


Life Lessons


I’ve learned all kinds of lessons the hard way, and it’s humbled me. That's the takeaway, I think: the humility.

My gratitude outweighs my regrets by a long shot.

Every failure is wisdom earned.

Here are a few things I’ve learned the hard way (and am probably still learning):

  • Trust yourself.
  • Don’t live for anyone else.
  • Self-acceptance is the key to a peaceful heart.
  • You don’t need validation, your soul knows the way.
  • Relationships take work, and for that you have to work on yourself.
  • Running away doesn’t solve the problem, but distance brings valuable perspective.

Things I’ve always intrinsically understood:

  • Nature is everything.
  • Energy is infinite.

playing guitar in an oak tree


The Only Way Out is Through


I’m a hot mess with a kind heart.

I’m an optimist with a cynical sense of humour.

I’m a feral homeschooling mom.

I’m a musician who hasn’t picked up a guitar in weeks.

I’m a writer procrastinating revisions.

I’m a woman aware of her mortality, and her soul’s immortality.

And as I navigate this lifetime, no matter the obstacles, I’m going to keep choosing the path that has heart. Even if that sometimes means learning lessons the hard way.

The only way out is through.


That was a wonderful writing prompt. Thanks, @LadiesOfHive! Oh, and I'm supposed to invite another woman to the community... How about the one and only @Snook?

I hope you enjoyed my philosophic prose. Thanks for reading!


Whatever happens, keep singing your song!
Peace @Katrina-Ariel / @LeiaTalon


All photos mine.


Books and music by Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, mama bear to twins, and author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance). She’s also written two books as Leia Talon: Shelta's Songbook: a collection of poetry with love notes from an immortal, and Falling Through the Weaving. Visit her website at www.KatrinaAriel.com


quotes banner.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency