Red Sky at Night, Sailors Delight


Have you ever been inspired by a post? This morning, my @c0ff33a coffee and I were sitting together doing a scroll-through of the posts, when I came across one from @tattoodjay about clouds. You can see his post here. Clouds are fascinating and of all the natural events that happen, one of the easiest to observe. I am not sure I have ever met a cloud I didn't love. One of my favorite things to do is point my phone up to the sky and take a picture of what my day looks like, then send it to some of my favorite people that also love clouds. Who doesn't love clouds? Raise your hand! PS...Sorry, not sorry @c0ff33a It's just too much fun, it almost begs me to do it.:)


hydrnagea 2.jpg


Meteorologists still use the same tried and true way to name clouds. Created by a British chemist, it is called the Linnean system, and it uses words from specific Latin bases. Because of the simplicity and efficiency of using this system, they still use it today.


7ohP4GDMGPrU6KTuuW27axCzEyjZonWtNibTWSX2VjAC8vxecq51Ep3XnuznKqZsNtUUNYiEgg8eswxeKrP7XoWidcACJwokzQS2i.jpg


I close my eyes, looking upward, as the shine bursts out loud, illuminating the leaves on the trees and the flowers beneath my feet. I was standing in Arlington Cemetery when I saw this. I snapped it with my cell phone, never wanting to forget this moment. Each time I see those clouds, I see the heart of my life slipping up through the clouds. It used to make me so sad, but, that has been replaced by comfort of sorts, knowing where they are.


7ohP4GDMGPrU6KTuuW27axCzEyjZonWtNibTWSX2VjAC8vxecq51Ep3XnuznKqZsNtUUNYWEMohRv9n16vUtYKuaZjAECmAjkmyG (1)2.jpg


I think these may be my favorite type of cloud, skirting just barely above the water, I can almost touch them. Sometimes it seems like it goes for miles. The line of vision is separated by the open sea horizon shot.


What is your favorite type of cloud? Do you have one or can you describe it? Feel free to drop a photo in the comments if you are out and want to share YOUR sky with us. As a matter of fact, I encourage it!

23KQwnti57stuXpnvnU2D4w5Hhi3Micu1ZRCk7Tjiao4xBwLYzD8UGf2ap5YyGpfRK5q3gJ2jjT6T8dovWAaCpGHwxoVbC22.png


A merging of the clouds, making its own kind of drama! Hey, you!! Look to the sky!! I couldn't resist using this shot today, but, it is only because when I see clouds like that, I don't hang around to see if they will sit pretty while I take a picture.


2.jpg


I am still amazed by the sight. Flying through the clouds. I love the crazy clouds, dancing on the wings at takeoffs - which are sometimes called condensation clouds, sometimes vortex clouds. Whichever term you use, it is still a cool sight. When you get up and away, they settle down to dreamy-looking skies, as I stare out of my window, I have to wonder if I am the only one amazed at this sight. I look around and can see that so many have lost that wonder of it all and I can only hope to never reach that spot. It is so much a part of life, there is no awe in these seemingly impossible wonders. When I was a kid, I used to wonder why they didn't fall out of the sky, although, I was very grateful when mine didn't as I boarded a plane with my family, heading off on an adventure.


0P2A9304 sunrise.JPG


The splendor of the day vanishes into the sunset. Is it any wonder that they came up with such descriptive words for the close of the day?


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

qjrE4yyfw5pQYiuVvgYiUBP16WHGGN7UNn1BCdGe2wrigYAuXk9yQNXfQCVYS69XzwDZgyxUihQJ5d7aE1bnucFXZw2LvRuQGpj5Cr9ew8JLckYdiYboBB5g.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
71 Comments
Ecency