Try All Things - And Keep Only the Good

The Heart of every Girl

Whether frilly lace or muddy face,
it's the heart that matters most
and through it all, in every girl
there's strength that we all host.
Through every hour of every day,
we learn as we engage,
and just like wine we too in time
get better as we age.
Eventually, we'll trade skin scraped knees
for passion and desire
and with no doubt, this wont go without
us getting forged in fire.
And as the tic tic tok, of natures clock
slowly makes each turn
we'll learn to live and how to love
and be loved in return.
And through the years, our smiles and tears
are worth their weight in gold
For every woman, knows her worth
by who she is, not what she's told

This is my entry for the Ladies of Hive Community Contest #33

"Were you a girlie-girl or a tomboy growing up? Or somewhere in-between? How about now? Do you like skirts, heels, & jewelry, or do you like jeans & t-shirt better?"

image.png

As a child I grew up in the city, and I guess I was supposed to act and dress a certain way, however from a very young age, I struggled to conform to those expectations. I was born with a heart designed for the great outdoors, my parents had a hard time keeping me clean let alone out of any climbable tree. And to their detriment, I would much rather ride my bike or go fishing with the boys in stead of playing nice with the other girls - It goes without saying that I was a tomboy of note, and damn did I give the boys a run for their money...

But as it goes with young ladies, there comes a time when they grow up, and for me, that just so happened after we moved to the farm. All of a sudden appearance started becoming a tad more important, and dressing up and experimenting with makeup became more important than practicing your slingshot aim or shooting fowl, rabbits and small deer.

image.png

Before I knew it though, I traded muddy toes and shorts for nail polish and dresses, and this persisted from when I finally started my first job right throughout my corporate career. But let me tell you, these appearances only lasted as long as work hours did, after that I would revert back to being barefoot out in nature or out doing fire dances at every opportunity I could.

One day I realized that there had to be more to life than working for bosses and selling your soul for the next paycheck, something was lacking in my life, and I couldn't put my finger on it, but I knew that I wasn't happy ~ It was this realization that eventually lead me back to the farm, and more so back to things that made me happy.

14 (10).jpg

It took me some time, but at some point I realized, I never stopped being a tomboy, I just went through a phase of being a very well dressed tomboy...

Somewhere through it all, I found my balance in the fact that comfortability trumps fashion but also that this does not mean that you have to look like something dragged you through the gutter, at least not all the time. And if the opportunity calls for it, you can always polish yourself up like the gem that you are.

As the saying goes - try all things and keep only the good, in this case, whats good for you, and what you are comfortable in...

As for me, give me jeans and shorts over a dress and heals every time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency