My Number One Passion

vic at top.jpg

What is your number one passion, the thing you do that makes you feel the most happy, peaceful, or satisfied?

For this contest brought to us by the Ladies of Hive I didn't have to think very long about deciding what makes me happy. I retired in 2017 and my retirement dream was to travel. Thanks to covid, no one did much traveling in the subsequent year and a half but we are slowly venturing out again.

20190518_232634.jpg

But the contest question not only wants to know what makes me happy, but it specifies also PEACEFUL and SATISFIED. That put a little bit different light on just the "happy" part. Spending time with my grandchildren certainly makes me happy, but rambunctious 6 and 8-year-olds can't be termed peaceful - our time together is a whirlwind of activities.

image.png

Now if I were to go with just "passionate about" I would be tempted to talk about Splinterlands! I started playing this game a couple of years ago and it is really paying off big time now. With the airdrops and the price of SPS and DEC both rising, it's very easy for me to be passionate about it. But, again, "peaceful" doesn't fit into this picture at all. The competition is so fierce now that my win rate has dropped and engaging in battling for my daily quest often brings on an episode of Tourrettes Syndrome rather than any feelings of peace!

image.png

So that brings me back to travel, which I'm certainly passionate about and I find very satisfying. But there are aspects of travel that are certainly not peaceful. We like to take road trips and usually drive our car instead of taking a plane. However, traffic jams are definitely NOT peaceful. Rude people and crowds are also not peaceful. Our recent trip to Miami Beach is still giving me nightmares of I-95 traffic!

mountains from land.jpg

bear close up.jpg

So what does meet the criteria of "passionate", "peaceful" and "satisfying"? Travel to see nature! Nothing is more calming than to admire nature in all her unspoiled grandeur. These photos were taken in Seattle, WA.

image.png

image.png

image.png

These three pictures were taken hiking and horseback riding at the Garden of the Gods area in southern Illinois.

selfies by bridge.jpg

stump from huge old tree.jpg

And these final two were taken in the state of Washington on a nature walk. You can see that the other recurring theme in my passionate, peaceful, and satisfying category is that I'm accompanied by my husband @crypt-skip. He's the one constant factor in my life that adds that all-important JOY to life, no matter what we are doing.

And to end this contest entry, I would like to invite @geekgirl to join our esteemed group of Ladies of Hive.

text15.png

2gsjgna1uruv8X2R8t7XDv5HGXyHWCCu4rKmbB5pmEzjYSizzfjNdte3WjDpJwa9mk6TFQtnVQ1y9b9KfhHWUQzbnDePQPwDzSpLPH9Ny2NPEuJDfL.png

KNoz79cGRt59F26ze6eP2tUxiihBmkfXYo9w7DDKsQPNkNhkUqF9FjD9GHUyFiYcXWdH2ADpn47sAEk15XwKttojSHKQ6x4gvtZJ18Bd9YWcK1euPdX447jKfDNcNU9sBi6SPiU7NEn1xdUbh6N7XFEeD4r3cHsGvfVcXPH5J4ZGFeUd2spU9vgBMKiqSV2uQaxTaqeQBHG3V.png

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blueeyes.jpg

inner.gif

image.png

Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account at Sign up for Hive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency