Getting Back To 3D Printing

Hello Everyone,

For the past couple of months I haven't been very active with 3D printing.

The main reason is because I was pretty much out of filament and was still having issues with layer shifting.

I'm happy to say I solved this issue without a doubt. The print travel moves were too fast, and the motherboard was not able to handle the voltage spikes. It just needed to be slowed down a little bit.

Last night I printed this Simple Succulent Pot With Drainage:


image.png
Simple Succulent Pot with Drain by arvic3d September 26, 2018


Filament: TECBEARS CLEAR
Layer Height: 0.2 mm
Build Plate Adhesion: Raft
Infill: 30%

I absolutely love this succulent pot! Aside from the fact that it's a solid and beautiful print, it's perfect for my needs.

I have multiple Graptosedum Bronze in a pot and one is suffering from rot, so they need to be separated. To see the this planter being used, check it out in this post on my main blog @futuremind. I blog about gardening and all kinds of other things on my main blog, but here we just focus on 3D printing only, so let's check out some more photos.


image.png


Here we can see the beginning layers. The pattern in the middle is infill, which adds strength to the print. Eventually this will not be visible in the print. (If using solid color filament.) In the case of clear filament, some infill lines will be visible because of the transparency of the material.


image.png



image.png



image.png


It was at this point that I needed to go to bed, so this is as much of the building that I was able to capture.

With a print like this, I don't worry about "sleeping on it," because the complexity is low, and there's not a whole lot that can go wrong.

That doesn't mean it couldn't happen..

I only sleep a few feet away when it's printing, on my couch, so if anything starts going wrong, it will wake me up.


image.png


image.png


I scaled it down 50%, which is the perfect size for my baby Graptosedum succulents.


image.png


I just received these 5 rolls of TECBEARS filament.

I really like this brand because the quality is good, and the price is competitive with other brands. I see no need to experiment around with different filaments right now.

Currently the two pack of 1 kg TECBEARS filament rolls is $33.29 USD on Amazon. For the quality of this product, this is a great price in my opinion.

This filament will go a long way too. Now that my printer is consistently printing good with all the kinks worked out, I won't be wasting nearly as much filament as before, and am planning to start selling prints as well, likely on Etsy with a gardening products being my main thing.


image.png



image.png


Above is a collection of things I've printed, (mostly files from thingiverse) and this was back when my printer wasn't working right. So today marks a fresh start of sorts, where I can focus more on design work now, instead of constantly trying to fix this Ender 3 V2.

That will do it for today, thank you for stopping by, and please feel free to ask me anything you would like to know about 3D printing, if I know the answer(s), I will be happy to assist!

Have a great day! ~~@print3dpro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency