Pass me that shovel - the potatoes are going in!

Many things in my life may not be as they should, but the same cannot be said when it comes to my garden. This year, I'm off to the best and earliest start of my gardening career.

After plowing a layer of dead leaves into the garden to add nutrients, I'm ready to put in some potatoes! Normally around here (Northern BC Canada) they'd be planted in May, but I'm doing everything 1-2 months early this year. I'm predicting an early (and hot, and dry) Summer, with watering restrictions and wildfires. While other local gardeners are sitting on their seeds and waiting for May long weekend (last weekend of May), I've had seeds in the soil since March. I intend to produce food for my family here, no matter what the weather throws at us this year.

That bag is the leftovers after enjoying the rest over the Winter. I bought them at the local farmers market in September for $5. Really tasty little pink spuds (pink on the inside as well as the outside), which are obviously suited for growing in this region. I didn't finish the bag before they started getting a little dehydrated sometime around February, so I decided to set them aside for planting in the Spring.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency