5 More Curb-Salvaged Items Saved & Sold For $447 Revenue (50+ Pounds Saved)

Thousands of pounds saved ever year. Thousands of happy buyers over the years. I did this all on my own.

What will you do to help support our planet's sustainability? What are you doing already?

As crypto continues to develop, I hope that I can gradually use these funds to make an enormous impact on our environment. I've waited for years and years. The time may be near.


Here are a few items I've recently saved from local curbs on recycling nights and resold to prevent them from being unnecessarily wasted.

image.png

I sold two sets of these 9 Lego Duplo farm animals online for a total of $54. I have many of these animals left and the buyer is interested in several other parts I haven't listed yet.

This was my second sale from the enormous Lego Duplo haul of 21 filled black garbage bags I saved. I've been slow to make listings for this yet, but the ducks are finally in a row...

I spent almost a full week organizing the 21 bags of parts I found into large ziploc bags, boxes and bins by brick type and color. It was quite a project, but now I know what I have and can start selling them.

Weight with recycled packaging: 1 pound.

Fun factor for kids: a lot.


image.png

Large Bosu fitness apparatus sold for $80 cash to a guy starting his own physical therapy office. He haggled me down from $100, but I wanted the space back as this was pretty awkward to store.

I found this with a fitness stepper that I brought directly to a friend's apartment. They insisted on giving me something for that, so I accepted $20 cash to allow them to feel that they helped my cause. I also found this with another item that sold for a nice amount, which I'll include in my next resale post.

Weight of pictured item: 18 pounds 8 ounces.


image.png

Here are 24.5 pounds of Legos I sold for $140 cash to a Dad buying them for his two kids. I usually get a bit more for this volume, but the bulk of these pieces came from the Lego Friends genre, which isn't as popular.

This set was a little more work than usual in that it required washing in soap in my bathtub. I actually used a hair dryer I found outside to help dry them.

Weight of item: 24 pounds 8 ounces.


image.png

I took this motherboard out of a 75" TV that was on the curb and sold it online for parts/repair for $79.

The TV was way too big to bring home to test, so I did the next best thing I could. Working boards fetch a lot more, but I'm not going to complain. The reward justified the awkward feeling of the building doorman watching me work and I knew it'd sell fast.

Weight with recycled packaging: 1 pound 12 ounces.


image.png

This textbook was an easy sell for $94 online with cheap media mail shipping. Knowledge is power. Knowledge of saving these from piles of books people walk by all evening is more power.

Current textbooks are great sellers. It's important to sell them before they become too outdated, so check out what your kids may have around the house.

Weight with recycled packaging: 5 pounds.


Summary:

  • 5 sales for $447 in revenue = $89.40 revenue per sale.
  • $220/$447 received as cash = 49%.
  • No expenses or costs outside of shipping built into purchase prices.
  • No repairs needed.

Here's a sneak peek at a nice item I just found:

image.png

image.png

image.png

I went out earlier than usual in the daylight since I had some plans for the evening. Instead of making an excuse that I'd skip my route later, I did most of it early and got rewarded for it right away.

Once I got it home, I cleaned it up and it works PERFECTLY. It's in great shape overall. Boom!


Lastly, as those who know me over the years can appreciate, the value in my post isn't in the entertainment from the handful of items I post about. It's about the passion and hustle I consistently exhibit off-chain to produce the posts, and goal of motivating others to address this problem. Hive is not the answer. Actions are the answer.

Thanks as always for your interest and support.

Please reuse, repurpose and recycle.

@steemmatt

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency