Of Truth in Response to Ecotrain Question of the Week...

@Ecotrain 's question for this week (details here) is

Do We Still Have Freedom Of Speech?

I must agree that our freedom of speech is being eroded away, seems that the powers to be are wanting more control.

I'll be presenting my response with the view from a Dhamma perspective, bringing in Kamma/Karma (law of cause and effect.)

When you look at the actions of those wanting more control (which is often fueled by greed and corruption) let's think of what sort of results they are going to reap from those actions. Will it be stressful or unsatisfactory? Will it lead to happiness or just more longing for power and control?

chinese675119_640.jpg
Image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay

Now look if you were to speak truth, to live that truth. What would be the results of that action.

There is a power to truth.

I had become aware of the *Four Noble Truths * in my studies of Buddhist wisdoms, which are quite profound and can put you on a life path.

From the words of the Buddha
"I teach suffering, its origin, cessation and path. That's all I teach"

When you look at these truths with the Buddha being like a physician, it can give you a clearer idea of what these teachings were.

From BBC

In the first two Noble Truths he diagnosed the problem (suffering) and identified its cause. The third Noble Truth is the realisation that there is a cure. The fourth Noble Truth, in which the Buddha set out the Eightfold Path, is the prescription, the way to achieve a release from suffering

One of the principal in the Eightfold Path is right speech. The others are right view, right resolve, right conduct, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right samadhi (concentration, meditative absorption or union)

Right Speech from the teachings - “abstinence from false speech, abstinence from malicious speech, abstinence from harsh speech, and abstinence from idle chatter."

Now do you choose the Kusula (the wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious) action which is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. Or the opposite akusala action which would lead to sorrow.
Taken from the definitions at the Wisdom Library

I know I am much happier when I live my truths and I will choose actions that bring harmony, peace and joy and keep me on the path that leads to liberation and a happy destiny.

Along another line - What about Physic power, a form of communication without words - can they control that?

I was listening to an interview with Joe Rogan and Elon Musk.

They were talking about, with chip implants, how it could enhance your communications so you could communicate with out speaking. (there would be no loss of freedom of speech there!) That conversation happens around 40:20. That could be cool, but you have to wonder about those in charge of creating these chips, would I trust them to implant something that can control my brainwaves?

No, I think I'll develop my own brain power and communication skills, even if they are a bit old fashion and I may not be keeping up with those enhanced individuals. I will be developing at my own speed, reaping my rewards which to me could be a more fulfilling life instead of a life with super powers!

I will continue on, speaking my truths and who ever it reaches or can receive it, is fine with me!

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

MINDFULLIFE.png MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #meditation #mindfulness #yoga & #spirituality content! We also run twice weekly online meditations in our Discord server. Discord II Community

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency