ecoTrain QOTW - Season 7 #2: "What are your favorite ways to show and receive gratitude?"

On my friend's profile @nikolina, I saw a post that interested me in its title. That post directed me to a profile @ecotrain and this is my first time answering their question.


Gratitude...

image.png


Gratitude for what we have in life

So many times in my life I have thought about gratitude... Am I grateful enough for everything I have in life, for everything my parents have provided and done for me? Many people nowadays are envious and don't know how to appreciate and be grateful for what they have. They always look at people who have more than them, which depresses them, makes them unhappy and asks them the question "But why can't I live life like that person?" Unfortunately, the influence of social networks on that side can be quite bad. People ignore people who advertise on social media to fight for their lives, the lives of their children who are struggling with various diseases for which they need large amounts of money to provide a cure.They are often suspicious when something like this appears on social networks, but that is why when they see posts by people in exotic destinations, with expensive cars and huge luxury houses, they fall into despair. When I think about it more deeply, I realize how much people don't know how to appreciate small things and be grateful that they are healthy, that they have a place to live and that they are not alone.

image.png

image.png

image.png


I think that people in the previous century knew much better to appreciate what they have and be grateful compared to the new generations. Therefore, I am grateful that my parents taught me to appreciate everything I have. And those non material things, but also material ones. Although they tell me in some situations that I am ungrateful, these are just moments when I am in some problem of my own. Although I feel deep gratitude to my parents, I rarely express it, so that is probably the reason for what I wrote above. So I try to express my gratitude to my parents more.

I also learned from them to appreciate gratitude more through some gestures that don't involve material things. Since they always bought me various things and never wanted me to buy them gifts for birthdays, holidays and important events, I introduced it to myself as an obligation from a couple of years ago. Maybe that’s the way I express my gratitude? I still don't know...


What does gratitude mean to me?


image.png

How many times have you found yourself in a situation to do at least one thing for someone and not feel that person’s gratitude? Well, here’s one person who has experienced this somany times. Many times I have wondered if I expect something too much or if people have become so selfish that it is difficult for them to show a sign of gratitude. That questioning often made me sad. I never did anything just to get something in return. But somehow it would be logical for that person to feel the need to do something for you, in any way, as a sign of gratitude. Like I said, I do it because I care about them and because they are important to me in my life. But I have to admit that even though I do it that way, I always hoped that these people would do the same for me.

I am a person who will often postpone my obligations to find myself there for friends and people I love. In moments when they need help, support in difficult situations, advice, etc.


So, my favorite way to show and receive gratitude are actually some spontaneous gestures in spontaneous situations. I try to understand that not all people are the same and that not everyone will behave the same when it comes to gratitude.


*Maybe the same person, I was there for when that person needed me, won't show me gratitude the way I would like. Maybe it will actually be someone unknown to us, some stranger, from whom we would never expect gratitude.

Well ... And that's okay. Gratitude is learned, and someone needs more time to understand it too. Once they learn that, they will be much happier.*

untitled.gif

Until the next question and topic, don't be envious of the one who has more than you, but be grateful for everything you have. 😇

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency