What are your favourite ways to show and receive gratitude? (ecoTrain QOTW)

IMG_1011-01.jpeg



Each and every human being is wired differently to react to feelings of goodwill being meted out to them. Nevertheless, in life, gratitude is what makes values like compassion, kindness and empathy have meaning. Inasmuch as it's not normal for people to want or seek for appreciation every time they perform an act of goodwill go a friend, a stranger, an acquaintance or colleague.

Subconsciously, being a recipient of gratitude not only drives a doer of goodwill to be happy, it particularly makes them feel they've done the right thing, it makes them want to even do more, and it's like a fuel or steam to their engine of which they need to carry on.


In Memory: First Way To Show Gratitude


In the past in my life, there's many people who have left a positive mark in my life. I like to feel they're the reason why things took a positive turn in my life, and the first way I show gratitude is by never forgetting, never forgetting how they've been there for me. Our mind is occupied with a lot of things in life, and sometimes we often make ourselves: our needs, our wants, a priority and this is how we're wired.

It makes it difficult for us to remember how we go to that position in the first place. But when we put people who have unconditionally been there for us in the fore of our mind, it's a sign towards gratitude. It means they matter a lot and that's why they're there. Gratitude begins with retention of memory and when we remember, it becomes easier to show gratitude.


IMG_20210706_082658-01-01.jpeg


Recognizing An Act Of Goodwill


In life, we thrive by being amongst people who are instrumental. No one would say they're where they are due to their own striving, so accepting and recognizing the efforts of people is a way of showing appreciation. In the past, someone gave up their job, so I could work because he felt i needed that job more than him.

While this was like 8 years ago, I remember and recognized that good will and this is how i've Internally formed a basis of gratitude, while I might have not done anything you show how grateful I am, recognizing his efforts in my life makes me subconsciously feel indebted to him for life. Which means I know that I owe him one. Gratitude is born out of the need to show responsibility for a goodwill, a lot of people do not see it a necessity and that is because they do even know what was done to them that they need to be grateful for.

By Being Vocal In Words & Action

.
Of course, a lot of people feel that gratitude is only in the action, but this isn't true. Nevertheless, when gratitude is born out of selflessness, it makes it unique, beautiful and memorable. In life, what we subconsciously do to show appreciation matters more and this is why I often take it to plan to not only do more for people who had done a lot for me.

I make it openly known to them that I am appreciative of everything they've done for me. People need to understand that they've paid a lot of price to be there for you even if they don't say it openly, they of course feel this way deep down, it's the human nature. When we openly say "thank you", it is the best and simplest form of gratitude, but when we go ahead to mean it, it makes us want to do things.


20210210_102036-01.jpeg


Gratitude: A Show Of Responsibility?


From our own scale of right and wrong, we often tend to measure the things being done for us. However, the fact that someone was good to me when there was no incentive at all, or they had no materialistic but selfless reason to be good to me is what matters, irrespective of how little that goodwill was. Intention is what makes a goodwill rather selfless or driven by an ulterior motive.

But then when people show goodness out of serendipity, this doesn't mean that a goodwill is valueless. Gratitude no matter the magnitude fosters people to know and feel that despite their frailties or failings, there's still an atom of goodness in them. This is why we should be grateful to people no matter how cumbersome it might feel, let us carry it as an act of responsibility because so many things should matter to us in life and showing gratitude is one of them.




All images Owned By Me



Interested in some more of my works?

DeFi In The Nigerian Space; Controlling Finances You Can Understand?
Understanding Cyclical Responsibility; Making A Case Scenario (3Speak)
Comparing Asians & African Food; What Determines The Unique Eating Habits Of Most Nigerians?
The Stench Of Change (An Original Poetry)
Some Of The Most Unique Things About Schooling & Living In Lagos State Nigeria


IMG_20210621_075339_422.jpg


My name is @Josediccus, a young Nigerian entrepreneur who is a Vlogger, A Psychologist, Poet, Sports Writer/Analyst & Personal Finance Coach. I'm using my contents as a process to create shared meaning as well as create expressions through which people on/off hive can relate. I believe content is a process to be enjoyed and relished and I'm up for any collaborations in my field stated above. Cheers


@Josediccus, your brother-in-pen & heart


I'm hoping to reach more people who are broken at heart and spirit, so share on any platform or reblog


My Twitter handle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency