What does spirituality mean to you? ¿Qué significa para usted la espiritualidad? [ESP/ENG]

portada-m.jpg



I come from a family where everyone was Catholic. I never heard of any of my relatives professing other beliefs, or declaring themselves atheist or agnostic. So the normal, the natural thing was that I was also baptized in Catholicism.

But my people were very particular believers, they had little doctrinal formation, they hardly attended mass and they were not prayerful either, they fulfilled the religious precepts in their own way. When they had the opportunity they attended the Holy Week processions, and they had a lot of respect for emblematic dates such as Holy Thursday and Good Friday and December 24th, when the birth of the baby Jesus is celebrated.

I grew up with the idea that spirituality and religion were the same thing, both things were fused and expressed the belief in something that transcended us, which for us was God, the creator of the universe and everything that existed.

When I reached adolescence I began to question myself and stopped believing in many things, perhaps because of some bad experiences where I saw people who declared themselves fervent practitioners but who did not act according to the precepts of religion, did not behave with respect, humility, tolerance and solidarity, values that I considered fundamental.

Step by step I moved away from my beliefs and for a long time I thought I had become an atheist. When my older children were born, I decided not to baptize them and let them choose what to believe in when they grew up. The children were growing up and one day my mother and my mother-in-law agreed and both asked me to baptize the children; to please them I did it, I was too fond of them to give them a hard time because of my intransigence. I was not a radical agnostic either.

apamate 550.jpg

So the years went by and I stayed away from religion. One day I began to do research work under the tutelage of a friend, he was a priest. In our meetings he never asked if I was a believer or not and respected that I lived with my wife without being married, nor did he try to bring me into his beliefs. We simply worked together in our academic affairs. That man's example marked me and made me reevaluate my choices. He was a very special man who led by example, a deeply spiritual man who was deeply committed to helping others.

His example was decisive for me to the point that I decided to return to Christianity, always with a critical stance; I do not accept manipulation in the name of religion, nor offenses or discrimination against those who have other beliefs. If someone of my creed acts in a malicious way, I cannot support him and even less defend him.

With the passing of time I have become a very spiritual man, I am convinced that we are not only a biological body but that within us dwells something else, a powerful force, intangible, that moves us along the paths of good; from my way of believing I call it the Soul, others will give it a different name. And I see no problem with that, because from different perspectives there is the belief that we are something more than a bag of bones, muscles, tendons and viscera. I believe that in all human beings resides a Soul that drives them to seek the welfare of the other.

As I get older I have become more sensitive, everything I see amazes me, our own body and that great context we call nature. In all this I see a great perfection, which I can only think of as the work of God.

arbolaa-550.jpg

In our time there are many who declare themselves agnostics, who say they do not believe in anything. A position that is difficult for me to understand and that I totally respect. In the same way I find respectable those who say they feel a spirituality outside of religion. I know that my understanding is limited and there will be questions that I will not be able to understand, among them the thousands of possibilities of believing or not believing in so many things.

I think of spirituality as an impulse that leads us to tune into the hearts of others. I believe that as we become more spiritual we become more sensitive to the needs of others and consequently we try to alleviate the sorrows that are within our reach.

I believe that indifference, selfishness and lack of solidarity, evils that are widespread in our time, are the result of the absence of a spiritual experience. People who are self-centered are tempted to indulge themselves in the unrestrained material life, which limits the possibility of opening their hearts to the presence of others. The one who has been touched spiritually feels deeply the power of love, so he commits himself to the well-being of all.

I thank the friends of @ecotrain for promoting this kind of discussions that allow us to reflect on really important and transcendent issues. I invite friends @damarysvibra and @mafalda2018 to let us know what they think.

Thank you for your time.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

cinti 800x20.jpg

ESPAÑOL

Provengo de una familia donde todos eran católicos, nunca escuche que alguno de mis familiares profesara otro tipo de creencias, o que se declarara ateo o agnóstico. Así que lo normal, lo natural, era que yo también fuese bautizado en el catolicismo.

Pero mi gente eran unos creyentes muy particulares, tenían poca formación doctrinaria, no participaban casi de la misa y tampoco eran rezanderos, cumplían con los preceptos religiosos a su modo. Cuando tenían la oportunidad asistían a las procesiones de Semana Santa, y tenían mucho respeto por fechas emblemáticas como el Jueves y el Viernes Santo y el veinticuatro de diciembre, cuando se celebra el nacimiento del niño Jesús.

Crecí con la idea de que espiritualidad y religión eran lo mismo, ambas cosas estaban fusionadas y expresaban la creencia en algo que nos trascendía, que para nosotros era Dios, el creador del universo y de todo lo existente.

Al llegar a la adolescencia comencé a cuestionarme y dejé de creer en muchas cosas, quizá por algunas malas experiencias donde veía personas que se declaraban fervientes practicantes pero que no actuaban acorde con los preceptos de la religión, no se comportaban con respeto, humildad, tolerancia y solidaridad, valores que yo consideraba fundamentales.

Paso a paso me fui apartando de las creencias y durante mucho tiempo llegué a pensar que me había vuelto ateo. Cuando nacieron mis hijos mayores decidí no bautizarlos y que ellos cuando fuesen grandes eligieran en qué creer. Los niños iban creciendo y un buen día se pusieron de acuerdo mi madre con mi suegra, y ambas me pidieron que bautizara a los niños; para complacerlas lo hice, les tenía demasiado aprecio a ellas dos como para hacerles pasar un mal rato por mi intransigencia. Tampoco era que yo fuese un agnóstico radical.

apamate 550.jpg

Así fueron pasando los años y yo me mantenía al margen de la religión. Un día comencé a realizar trabajos de investigación bajo la tutela de un amigo, él era Sacerdote. En nuestros encuentros nunca preguntó si yo era creyente o no y respetaba que viviera con mi esposa sin estar casado, tampoco buscó de llevarme a sus creencias. Sencillamente trabajábamos juntos en nuestros asuntos académicos. El ejemplo de aquel hombre me marcó y me hizo revalorizar mis opciones. El era alguien muy especial que predicaba con el ejemplo, un hombre profundamente espiritual y entregado de lleno a prestar ayuda a los demás.

Su ejemplo fue decisivo para mí al punto que decidí regresar de nuevo al cristianismo, siempre con una postura crítica; no acepto manipulaciones en nombre de la religión, ni ofensas o discriminaciones hacia el que tiene otras creencias. Si alguno de mi credo actúa de forma malintencionada no lo puedo apoyar y menos defender.

Con el correr del tiempo me he vuelto un hombre muy espiritual, estoy convencido que no solo somos un cuerpo biológico sino que dentro de nosotros habita algo más, una fuerza poderosa, intangible, que nos mueve por los caminos del bien; desde mi forma de creer lo llamo el Alma, otros le darán un nombre distinto. Y no veo en ello ningún problema, porque desde diferentes perspectivas hay la convicción de que somos algo más que un saco de huesos, músculos, tendones y vísceras. Creo que en todos los seres humanos reside un Alma que los impulsa a buscar el bienestar del otro.

A medida que envejezco me he vuelto más sensible, todo lo que veo me maravilla, nuestro propio cuerpo y ese gran contexto que llamamos naturaleza. En todo eso veo una gran perfección, que solo me es posible pensarla como obra de Dios.

arbolaa-550.jpg

En nuestro tiempo son muchos los que se declaran agnósticos, dicen no creer en nada. Una posición que me cuesta comprender y que respeto totalmente. De igual modo me parecen respetables los que dicen sentir una espiritualidad al margen de la religión. Sé que mi comprensión es limitada y habrá cuestiones que no lograré entender, entre ellas las miles de posibilidades que habrá de creer o no en tantas cosas.

Pienso la espiritualidad como un impulso que nos lleva a sintonizarnos con el corazón de los demás. Creo que a medida que somos más espirituales nos volvemos más sensibles hacia la necesidad ajena y procuramos en consecuencia aliviar las penas que estén a nuestro alcance.

Creo que la indiferencia, el egoísmo y la falta de solidaridad, males muy extendidos en nuestro tiempo, son producto de la ausencia de una vivencia espiritual. Las personas centradas en sí mismas caen en la tentación de entregarse al desenfreno de la vida material, lo que les limita la posibilidad de abrir su corazón a la presencia del otro. El que ha sido tocado espiritualmente siente profundamente la fuerza del amor, por lo que se compromete con el bienestar de todos.

Agradezco a los amigos de @ecotrain por promover este tipo de debates que nos permiten reflexionar sobre asuntos realmente importantes y trascendentes. Invito a las amigas @damarysvibra y @mafalda2018 a que nos den a conocer su opinión.

Gracias por tu tiempo.

separador verde.jpg

Todos tus comentarios son bienvenidos en este sitio. Los leeré con gusto y dedicación.

Hasta una próxima entrega. Gracias.


MARCA LIBRO POSTALdef-sombra-m.jpg

Las fotos, la edición digital y los Gifs son de mi autoría.


separador verde.jpg


banner delfin cumpleaños-500.png

separador verde.jpg

No te olvides de votar @cervantes como witness en esta página:

https:/wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses

Te invito a apoyar este proyecto como witness y a formar parte de esta gran comunidad uniéndote a su Discord en el siguiente enlace:

Discord de la comunidad Cervantes

separador verde.jpg

You can vote for @ocd-witness, with HiveSigner or on Hive Witnesses.




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency