Delivery, Grain, Frog, Harvests, Rain, Soaks - Friday

That was a busy day. It started soaking since I had time before taking J to school. It is well worth it for sure even if it is only a half hour. Especially prior to a busy day it is nice to start it out relaxed.

IMG_20210910_062237.jpg

It was a shorter soak since I had to load up the truck with all the produce for delivery to the co-op. It took up the entire bed of the truck which is pretty rare for me. Over 400 pounds going out at one go is pretty good and my cooler sighed a big sigh of relief.

IMG_20210910_072137.jpg

I decided to do the circuit the opposite of my norm and dropped off the co-op orders first before going to Spokane to pickup the grain. I headed to the first brewery and found 3 barrels of grain that were still warm from the prior days brewing. I had not been informed they were there but happened to find them when I was dropping off empties. I really like when it works out this way.

IMG_20210910_084552.jpg

Then I hit up the other brewery down town and got the other 3 barrels loaded on the trailer. I made it home after a stop to restrap the barrels and within 10 minutes of me being home my buddy stopped by for a while. He hung out for nearly an hour and once he left I was able to get the barrels of grain emptied into the sheep pen, to which they and the birds attacked with intensity.

IMG_20210910_090359.jpg

I went to go pick the summer squash but found nothing mu9ch of size since I had picked down pretty far to fulfill the 340 lb order. It's not a bad thing and letting the plants have a chance to grow is pretty common as the season nears its end. With no squash to pick I set about picking the cucumbers. In the main garden I was crouched down scoping for cucs when I found this frog hanging out atop one. It was a pretty mellow frog and was not super jumpy, it sat and watched as I picked the other cucs around it. I had to nudge it off the cucumber so I could pick it and it hopped onto my hand.

IMG_20210910_113639.jpg
IMG_20210910_113644.jpg
IMG_20210910_113706.jpg

I got 49 cucumbers picked and a big Armenian cucumber that I had missed from a few days ago. It gives me an even 100 cucumbers in the cooler which I will be taking most of with today to the Spokane Freedom Exchange.

IMG_20210910_114625.jpg

The tomatoes needed to be picked and I ended up with just under 7 lbs of the large and just over 7 lbs of the cherry. This gives me a lot of the cherry, at least 14 pounds of them now in the kitchen that hopefully this weekend we can get processed and canned.

IMG_20210910_120451.jpg
IMG_20210910_125339.jpg

A bunch of time in the afternoon was spent back and forth across the farm getting everything ready for the inbound rains. It was soooo much walking and countless trips with only a couple things in my hands but I got everything under cover. While I was taking a break before having to pick J up from school I got to work on bagging and tagging my seeds. I got my labels all worked out and they fit the smaller bags just fine, after trimming.

I have Minnesota Midget Melon, Skyscraper Sunflower, and Flat Of Egypt Beet seeds all bagged up in a couple of sizes. Pretty happy with how they have turned out and I think people will be happy with them.

IMG_20210910_130856.jpg

Later in the day we got our new speaker which I paired to the tablet and tested it out. Super badass speaker that is quite loud and we are able to hear it over the sound of the jets. We spent a good amount of time in the spa over the evening and closed out the night there.

IMG_20210910_180633.jpg

We got a nice bit of rain over night which we desperately needed. It was so nice to sit in the tub and get rained on. Today we got to the exchange for the morning then the afternoon I will be out picking and we will be soaking anytime we can.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency