ecoTrain Medicinal Cooking Competition šŸŽ $250 Awarded in Prizes and Tie up Post

medicinal-soup-week1Tieup.jpg

Thank you to everyone who participated in this first medicinal cooking competition / Challenge! It was very interesting to see so many different and even unusual dishes from around the world. I think all of you spent a lot of time and effort on your posts, with so many photos and good explanations of your recipe and why you chose it. It was too hard to even try to pick a few winners out so in the end i have awarded $25 to all of you who posted as your prize for participating. So Congratulations to you all, I Hope to see you join us next time for the Week 2 of the medicinal cooking competition, starting tomorrow!

You can see a snippet of all the posts below. If you are interested to see more just click the READ MORE link to view the entire post. As always, donā€™t forget to follow the people who's posts you like!

Thank you again to everyone who joined in, nice job!

@hknauy60

ROOT VEGETABLES SOUP WITH PORK RIBS

This soup is one of the dishes my mom often cooked for me when I was young, and until now, when she is a grandmother of 4 kids, she still usually cooks this for them. I've always wondered why this is a regular dish in my family meals, especially during the exam seasons when I had to stay up late studying or when someone complained that lately I looked too thin, my mom always made it. Lately, since I had my own little family, I started looking for healthy recipes to cook and found out it is a nourishing meal. Providing iron, it has a tonic effect on the blood. For people with blood pressure disease, beetroot soup is a dish that should be used regularly because of its health benefits.

READ MORE


@snownz00855

Rice porridge

Porridge is a very popular dish in Vietnamese cuisine as well as in Southeast Asian countries. It is made of two main ingredients which are rice and water. It is not a dish, it is my childhood. In my memory, I didnā€™t like porridge. I even hated it a lot. How come?

I was born underweight. My bodyā€™s defense failed to overcome the cold, flu, and many other common sicknesses during change of seasons and all year round to be exact. Every single time I got ill or just under the weather, my mom treated me with porridge. A compelling reason is she believes porridge is a medicinal soup. I am not sure but I have to amid that she was right on this spot (haha moms have experience). I felt better after having a bowl of porridge and pills. Therefore, I quickly recovered in a few days or a week. My brothers and sisters told me that she had to have porridge more than me, not because of sickness, it was hunger. Porridge produces a bigger volume than cooked rice and is easy to feed more people.

READ MORE


@pappyelblanco

Catfish Peppersoup

Growing up, the only fond memory I have about falling sick besides being shipped off to weather the storm at Grandma's place was the amazing Catfish Peppersoup she makes that soothes your very soul. The herbs in the soup detoxify your system and would have you feeling well pretty soon.

The best part of growing up in Nigeria to me has always been the spicy food and the Catfish Peppersoup is filled with spices and herbs that would have you feeling better in no time. I served mine with boiled white rice as that's the way I remember Grandma doing it.

READ MORE


@blackberryskunk

Fall Soup

Roasted root fall soup is a medicinal soup that will warm us up and boost our immune system. This detox soup is made of root vegetables, fall apples, spiced up with ginger root and sage leaves. I served it with Grissinis and decorated it with fried slices of beetroot and tuile.

READ MORE


@vicmito74

Rich and Protein Chicken Foot Soup

My greetings to all who make up this community, this time, we find ourselves with the launch of a striking culinary contest, which deals with medicinal soups. Talking about soups is a challenge, since we know different recipes that have been passed from generation to generation; Personally, this time I want to share with you my mother's recipe for a rich, nutritious and healthy chicken leg soup. It should be noted that chicken feet are a source of cysteine, which is an important amino acid, which is responsible for reducing mucus in the lungs, thus helping to fight diseases such as flu and colds, strengthening the respiratory system; which is good to consume in this time of pandemic; Since they are rich in minerals such as magnesium, calcium, phosphorus, sulfur, and silicon, they also help fight arthritis and joint pain. Which is why I share the creation of this soup below.

READ MORE


@arialvi75

Vegetable Soup

Today I want to show you through this contest of: ecotrain medicinal soup competition, a traditional soup that for many years, every Thursday my mom used to prepare. We lived in a mountainous, humid and cold area. That's why colds were very common. It is also true that vegetables were grown right there and every Saturday we could go to the sale that the town organized where the farmers directly from their harvest offered their products at a lower price. It was also common that the neighbors would give you vegetables (even now) that they grew in their houses, such as: long onion, cilantro, peppers, broccoli, chard, pumpkin, and others. So the soup was not expensive to make and the ingredients that were missing at home, we bought them at low prices from the farmers. And the chicken feet were available in the stores almost for free.

READ MORE


@winnietran

Seaweed Soup

Hi my Hiver friends,
First of all, I wanna thank you @ecotrain community for bringing to us the meaningful contest. Also gave me a chance to know more medicine food from other friends in the community as I didn't see before.
Today, I made the Seaweed soup to join the contest. Seaweed soup is also one of my favorites. This soup I think it's good for everyone's health and also easy to find it everywhere from market or supermarket and above that it provides to our body a lot of vitamins and calcium.
Why do I choose seaweed?
Because seaweed is actually a good food due to its high calcium, iodine, fiber, omega acids, vitamin B1 & B3, and low-calorie count. It helps to increase the metabolism, blood circulation, prevents cancerous growth, and anti-aging.
In Korea, seaweed soup is one of the soups that women should consume within the first few weeks after childbirth because of its health benefits. It is known to be the best thing to help mothers who are recovering from pregnancy.

READ MORE


@zeleiracordero-2

A smiling face of "Ricotta"

A rich and nutritious soup or cream of vegetables and grains makes a healthy lunch or dinner, depending on the diner's preference.

The recipe was not taken from a recipe book, it is a simple combination of vegetables, vegetables, and grains that I assumed would give a good result if I put them together, not only because they are ingredients that we usually have in our kitchen, but also because the preparation is very simple and can be served as a soup or as cream, although I preferred to present it as cream.

READ MORE


@millymillions

STOCKFISH AND DRY FISH PEPPER SOUP

It feels good to be participating for the first time in the Ecotrain Contest. Thanks to the Ecotrain Community and @charleywhittal for initiating such interesting topic as this.
Here in Nigeria,we have lots of soup and the most medicinal of them all is our Pepper soup with any seafood of choice like snails,crabs,oyster,shrimps, goatmeat,fish(whether dry,fresh or the stock one),etc. It is mostly consumed by the pregnant woman as it is a form of medicine before and after birth to help ease whatever pain they may feel.Personally I love pepper soups,because I am one allergic to so many things and pepper soups help calm this allergies.
For this contest,I chose to prepare Stockfish and dry fish pepper soup.

Stockfish is an unsalted fish and is dried using the world's oldest known preservation method - drying by cold air and wind on wooden racks. While our dry fish are slowly smoked over a period of time until it is dry. This is easily done by market women or kiosk owners.

READ MORE


@emeka4

Vegetable Soup

It is really a great privilege for me to be part of this soup competition and I really appreciate the effort of @ecotrain and @charleywhittall for putting this up.

I find the challenges interesting so as to know more about different soups that would be posted here and also learn how to prepare them.

I am from Nigeria and am here to share with you one of our local Nigerian dish that is been prepared here and how simple and easy it is to prepare it. The soup I prepared is a vegetable soup called "Efo riro" in Yoruba language here in Nigeria and it is very easy and simple to prepare which is also nourishing and medicinal to the human health.

The "Efo riro" soup like I said earlier is very easy and simple to prepare regardless of how you prepare is but I prepared mine in a simpler way which would be very easy to learn and prepare.

The soup can be eaten with a swallow(Eba) which is made from cassava, rice, yam, plantains, even potatoes if you prefer to use it.

READ MORE


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency