EcoTrain Question Of The Week Season 7 #2: What are your favourite ways to show and receive gratitude?


source

Gratitude is one of the most important virtues taught by Islam. God has promised to bless us more if we demonstrate gratitude for what we already have. God says in Quran

If you are grateful (to Me), I shall most certainly give you more and more. source

In Islam, the teachings of patience are always accompanied with that of gratitude. It is to make people acknowledge how much they have been blessed despite having some difficulties in their lives. By shifting one’s attention from hurdles to opportunities, it becomes easier to combat obstacles. Practicing gratitude safeguards one’s well-being.

That’s why I try my level best to incorporate gratitude into my daily life. I show my gratitude to God by positive utilization of the skills and energy He has gifted me. Fulfilling my responsibilities in the best possible way is also a display of my gratitude to Him. God doesn’t need anything in return for whatever He has blessed us with. However, His creature needs us in several instances. If we help someone in need with the blessings (be it financial, physical or mental capacities) He has given to us, we exhibit that we are thankful to Him.

Moreover, I offer prayers and say thanks to Him for all the blessings He has bestowed me with. In order to feel the real pleasure of gratefulness, I try to remind the favors and count the blessings by name. When I thank God by naming those blessings, I realize exactly how much God is merciful.

The show of gratitude is not for God alone, but we are also supposed to be grateful to our fellow beings. Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said

He who does not thank the people is not thankful to Allah. source

I display my gratitude to my fellow beings by saying Thank you or “Jazak Allah” (May Allah reward you well). Not only simple thank you, often I try to tell that person how the particular favor was important to me and how much that favor has saved me. Moreover, I also try to acknowledge the favor in public. It is to make that person show that the favor was not taken for granted.

I also show my gratitude by offering a helping hand when that person is in need. I don’t even refrain from giving a priority to him/her over my needs.

My gesture of thanks varies from relation to relation. For some relations like my kids, husband, mother, and friends, I go for a hug.

As I mentioned above, I help others as a gesture of gratitude to my God, so I don’t have much desire to get anything in return from people. I usually feel shy when people acknowledge my favors for them. Receiving simple thanks is ok for me. However, some very grateful friends in my life go farther than mere thank you. They help me whenever I ask them and repeatedly tell how I had once helped them.

There are very few relations from whom I have an extreme desire to receive gratitude. Precisely, he is my husband. Lol. I want him to hold my hand and tell me that he values my efforts for him and his family. I want him to be thankful to me for the sacrifices and chores I do despite having no responsibility for many of them. I would love it if he ever does so.

This is my entry into the contest by #ecotrain. If you want to participate, click here for the details.

divider

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency