What To Do When You are Unhappy with Your Job?

1.png

It is almost 4:00 AM here in my place.

Still sleepless, and on my 2nd cup of coffee for the night. I'd been in this vicious cycle for more than 10 years. My eyebags are getting darker and darker each year and even the creams advertised in the market do not help.

2.png

While staring at my desktop, searching for some inspiration, a muse to spark my thoughts I received a chat from someone.

3.png

What to do if you are unhappy with your current job?

I stopped for a while and gathered my ideas. It was hard for me to point out something or say words as a spur of the moment.

I know the person, he was enthusiastic at work and always been the "Yes" man on every task assigned.

Or maybe I know him on how he wants to be known?

That I am not sure, but what I am agreeing to is to acknowledge him and not invalidate what he is experiencing. Men, including me, love to jump into resolution as always but do not want to deal with the deeper cause of the problem.

We talked for a while as he bid goodbye. He felt relieved after the talk because he was confident that there's someone available to listen to his ramblings.

After the talk, I just realized that maybe the reason for some sleepless nights would be because some souls are awake? Sleepless like mine and have problems that they need to figure out.

Who knows? I also can't tell.


For some who are having such experiences, I am with you. I also felt that and there are times that I want to give up working. Yet, I always ask myself, is it worth it? What should I do to stop what I am feeling?

Have You Tried Talking to Your Superior?

4.png

This is the first question that I asked my friend.

Some will say that this approach doesn't work as the management sees its employees as numbers that can be easily replaced.

In my case, my lead knows very well that I am a constant complainer for the things that I find dissatisfying.

I always believe that open communication with your lead will be a good way to figure out your next action plan.

Maybe you are not on good terms with your manager and maybe he/she is the reason why you do not find joy at work? Have you tried expressing it out vocally?

Are you taking your personal time off?

This is not your usual fixed rest day but rather your personal time out of work.

At times, when we push ourselves too much at work we are forgetting that we also need to rest. If you haven't had one maybe it is time to do so.

A day or two where you will be away from everything.

How about a long walk? A road trip or a hike through the mountains? Maybe you need some vitamin sea on the side?

5.png

Treat yourself, give yourself personal time.

We all need that.
6.png

Images were created using Canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency