Donald Duck During World War 2

ruined-childhood.jpg
Image Source:
https://knowyourmeme.com/photos/356340-ruined-childhood

If you are interested in world history and/or the history of animation you might find the video below informative.

Before watching this video I was vaguely aware that Donald Duck was featured on many American WWII soldier insignias. Of course I knew about Der Fuehrer's Face and the memes. This video taught me that the popular use of Donald Duck in World War 2 propaganda wasn't just a historical accident or some weird licensing thing between Disney and the U.S. government. There was a psychological basis for why soldiers might prefer Donald Duck.

I think though that if I had been a WWII soldier I would have been more of a Pluto supporter. Dogs are loyal but maybe the "stoicism of a dog" association for an Allied soldier would have made more sense for the troops of Great Britain.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency