Like a child lost in a video store // Como uma criança perdida em uma video locadora

There was a time when my favorite day of the week was Saturday, because that was the day I would go with my friend to rent movies from the video store. I was still a kid, about 10 years old or so. The only way I knew how to make it by myself was from the rental store to my home. And it was a long way. I was so in love with the habit of watching movies and all that relationship with the choice of VHS, old movies (but also new releases) that my father even had an account at the video store, so I could book the movies and he would pay at the end of the month (and always fighting because I was taking too many movies). I loved the promotions (take 2 and get 1). I loved the smell of those video stores. The relationship was so strong that for many years I dreamed of that environment, I remember a recurring dream where I was in the video store choosing a movie and when I looked through the windows of the last room of the store, the sky outside was completely red.

VHS Times.png
Source

I was a video store rat, literally. I devoured all the releases (which came slowly to a tiny, country town like the one I live in) and then the rest of the time I would intersperse with every kind of movie that attracted me by the cover and synopsis of the dusty old shelves, and it was a movie universe, it was a movie for the rest of the years, but I believe I saw at least 90% of it all. That's how I jumped from "Jackie Chan" to "The Vanishing" of 88. Or how I got to know incredibly impactful movies for my character at the time like "Christiane F", "Pink Floyd's Live at Pompeii" and so many others. Unfortunately the video store I frequented, even though it was the biggest in town, didn't have cult classics like Bergman, Tarkovsky or anything like that, the most I could find was a few pearls from Lynch or Kubrick. But each tape, each cover, was important for the construction of my cinematographic personality.


Source

It may seem like an old-fashioned thing to comment on this, but it is strange to think that we have experienced a phase that will not come back and that today's children will not have the experience of walking to rent a VHS tape, get home, put it on on the device and watch that half-clouded screen full of graphic noises, a mono sound, those classic colored stripes, then the introduction of the responsible company and its respective trailers. And also the specific feeling of rewinding the movie when it comes to an end. It may seem silly, but they are very specific sensations that gave the film a special air, a ritual. Some of this was still imprinted in the DVD era (which was brief) and supposedly in the era of Blu-Ray, which I didn't even experience (why, who needs Blu-Ray when you can download a 4K movie in a few minutes hours, for free?). Anyway, this was a post to remind a little of this incredible sensation that the rental stores and their universe of possibilities were, the gateway to the cinematographic world of many people, who, like me, didn't have cinemas in their city. Is that you? Do you have good memories of VHS video stores? Thanks for reading and for your vote!


Source

Thômas H N Blum

Movie-Divider.png

PORTUGUÊS

Houve uma época onde meu dia preferido da semana era o sábado, por que era o dia que eu ia com meu amigo alugar filmes na locadora. Eu era ainda uma criança, uns 10 anos mais ou menos. O único caminho que eu sabia fazer sozinho era da locadora até em casa. E era um longo caminho. Eu era tão apaixonado pelo hábito de ver filmes e toda aquela relação com a escolha do VHS, dos filmes velhos (mas também dos lançamentos) que meu pai tinha até uma conta na locadora, para eu poder marcar os filmes e ele pagar no final do mês (e sempre brigar por que eu estava pegando filmes demais). Adorava as promoções (leve 2 e ganhe 1). Adorava o cheiro daquelas locadoras. A relação era tão forte que por muitos anos eu sonhava com aquele ambiente, lembro de um sonho recorrente onde eu estava na locadora escolhendo algum filme e quando eu olhava pelas janelas da última sala da locadora, o céu lá fora estava completamente vermelho.

Eu era um rato de locadora, literalmente. Devorava todos os lançamentos (que vinham lentamente para uma cidade minúscula e do interior como a que eu moro) e então no resto de tempo eu intercalava com todo tipo de filme que me atraísse pela capa e sinopse das prateleiras antigas e empoeiradas, e era um universo de filmes, era filme pro resto dos anos, mas acredito que vi pelo menos 90% de tudo aquilo. Foi assim que eu pulava de um "Jackie Chan" para um "The Vanishing" de 88. Ou assim que conheci filmes incrivelmente impactantes para meu caráter na época como "Christiane F", "Live at Pompeii do Pink Floyd" e tantos outros. Infelizmente a locadora que eu frequentava, mesmo sendo a maior da cidade, não tinha materiais clássicos do cult como Bergman, Tarkovsky nem nada do gênero, o máximo que eu poderia encontrar era algumas pérolas do Lynch ou Kubrick. Mas cada fita, cada capa, teve importância para a construção da minha personalidade cinematográfica.

Pode parecer uma coisa de gente velha comentar isso, mas, é estranho pensar que vivenciamos uma fase que não voltará e que as crianças de hoje em dia não terão a experiência de ir a-pé alugar uma fita VHS, chegar em casa, colocar ela no aparelho e assistir aquela tela meio nublada cheia de ruídos gráficos, um som mono, aquelas listras coloridas clássicas, depois a introdução da empresa responsável e seus respectivos trailers. E ainda a sensação específica de rebobinar o filme quando este chega ao final. Pode parecer bobeira, mas são sensações muito específicas que davam ao filme um ar especial, um ritual. Um pouco disso ainda ficou impresso na era do DVD (que foi breve) e supostamente na era do Blu-Ray, que eu nem cheguei a vivenciar (por que, quem precisa de Blu-Ray quando pode se baixar um filme em 4K em poucas horas, de graça?). Enfim, esse foi um post para relembrar um pouco dessa sensação incrível que foram as locadoras e seu universo de possibilidades, a porta de entrada para o mundo cinematográfico de muita gente, que como eu, não tinha cinema em sua cidade. E você? Tem boas memórias das locadoras de VHS? Obrigado pela leitura e pelo seu voto!

Thômas H N Blum

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency