My Most Anticipated Upcoming Movies and TV Shows 2021

dune1.jpg

Woah, after watching some of Netflix's recently dropped trailers, I am beyond excited for what's upcoming in theaters and television. From massive cinematic adaptations to anime adaptions, this Autumn looks to keep me glued to the big screen. Here's to hoping COVID doesn't keep me from seeing some of these films in the theater.

I figured I had to do a shortlist of what I'm most excited about in television and film for the end of 2021. (Wow, I can't believe 2021 is almost over already)

net.jpg

Netflix, You Have Me Interested

Living in SE Asia, I haven't had Netflix for years. Their selection is always subpar and if anything was really interesting I would just pirate it. BUT, with 2 recent trailer drops, Netflix has my attention and you may get a month or two of subscription fees from me if these shows are available in Cambodia.

Both these series are taken from two of the most iconic properties in fiction. This means Netflix has to get them right or you will have every neckbeard on the planet crying up a storm. Honestly, I don't give a shit what those people think about shows, I make up my own mind and the trailers for both Cowboy Bebop and The Sandman look astonishing.

Anyways, let's get onto the shows!

Cowboy Bebop Live-Action Adapation

It’s time to blow this scene. Who’s in? Cowboy Bebop arrives Nov. 19.

COWBOY BEBOP is an action-packed space Western about three bounty hunters, aka “cowboys,” all trying to outrun the past. As different as they are deadly, Spike Spiegel (John Cho), Jet Black (Mustafa Shakir), and Faye Valentine (Daniella Pineda) form a scrappy, snarky crew ready to hunt down the solar system’s most dangerous criminals — for the right price. But they can only kick and quip their way out of so many scuffles before their pasts finally catch up with them.

Based on the beloved anime series, COWBOY BEBOP is executive produced by André Nemec, Jeff Pinkner, Josh Appelbaum and Scott Rosenberg of Midnight Radio, Marty Adelstein and Becky Clements of Tomorrow Studios, Makoto Asanuma, Shin Sasaki and Masayuki Ozaki of Sunrise Inc., Tim Coddington, Tetsu Fujimura, Michael Katleman, Matthew Weinberg, and Christopher Yost. Nemec serves as showrunner. Original anime series director Shinichirō Watanabe is a consultant on the series, and original composer Yoko Kanno returns for the live-action adaptation. The series also stars Alex Hassell and Elena Satine.

The Sandman is Coming to the Big Screen

The Lord of Dreams has been summoned, and captured, by mortal men. Once free from his captivity, this eternal ruler of Dreams will realize that his troubles are only just beginning.

The Sandman is a Netflix series based on the groundbreaking comic book series created for DC by Neil Gaiman. The series is Executive Produced by Neil Gaiman, Allan Heinberg, & David S. Goyer.

I literally had chills during both these trailers and am anxious to see how they turn out. Both trailers look stunning and I love the short exposition dump you get in The Sandman Trailer. Good luck Netflix, I'm counting on you to nail both these projects.

pills2.jpg

On the Big Screen

There are two films competing for my attention on the big screen. Dune and The Matrix Resurrections. Both films have been a long time coming and need to be stellar to win over fans.

I have total faith in Dune directed by Denis Villeneuve. He is one of my favorite directors and always produces a spectacle of a film.

The Matrix Resurrections is more of a gamble. The Matrix is one of the greatest films of all time but was followed up with two subpar sequels. Here's to hoping Lana Wachowski can pull the sequel off.

Is this a Legit DUNE Adaption?

Oscar nominee Denis Villeneuve (“Arrival,” “Blade Runner 2049”) directs Warner Bros. Pictures and Legendary Pictures’ “Dune,” the big-screen adaptation of Frank Herbert’s seminal bestseller of the same name.

A mythic and emotionally charged hero’s journey, “Dune” tells the story of Paul Atreides, a brilliant and gifted young man born into a great destiny beyond his understanding, who must travel to the most dangerous planet in the universe to ensure the future of his family and his people. As malevolent forces explode into conflict over the planet’s exclusive supply of the most precious resource in existence—a commodity capable of unlocking humanity’s greatest potential—only those who can conquer their fear will survive.

Can They Finally Resurrect the Matrix?

From visionary filmmaker Lana Wachowski comes “The Matrix Resurrections,” the long-awaited fourth film in the groundbreaking franchise that redefined a genre. The new film reunites original stars Keanu Reeves and Carrie-Anne Moss in the iconic roles they made famous, Neo and Trinity.

I honestly don't know which film I'm most excited about. I know Dune is going to be stellar and The Matrix trailer looks like they are taking the series in a new direction. Both look great, we'll just have to see once they are on the screen.

Some Honorable Mentions

I guess I'm still a little interested in most of the upcoming Marvel projects but their boring shows have made me slightly jaded. All the movies and shows are basically the same thing and the MCU is real close to jumping the shark for me. But yeah, I'm still gonna watch Shang Chi, The Eternals, and Spider-man.

What are you Excited About Watching This Fall?

With so many films and shows coming out soon, it can be hard to keep up. Did I miss your favorite film or TV show? I'd love to hear about it and try it out.

A little about me...

Currently based in Siem Reap, Cambodia, I'm a solo-traveling digital nomad. Due to the pandemic, I've been living in Siem Reap for almost 2 years now. While I'm hoping to get back on the road soon, I'm not in a rush.

I'd love to connect with other travelers, digital nomads, gamers, or residents of Cambodia. Don't hesitate to say hi or send me an upvote!

You can learn more about me and my company at OneZen.me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency