Qurator's: Hive Top Chef! | Signature Dish: Fiery Durban Curry

We lived in Durban, South Africa, when I was still very young, and I grew up with tantalizing hot Durban curries, as my mom used to love the heat!

image_6483441 (39).JPG

How difficult is it to choose your signature dish? I realized that when having to decide on which recipe to enter for this contest. There are many dishes that I love to make on a daily basis, but I decided to make my Durban curry, as it has everyone coming back for extra helpings.

I inherited my mom’s love of hot curries and chopped and changed her recipes, till I started to make my own signature Durban curry, which I make regularly in our house and it is so easy to freeze and package, that this is what I have made for loved ones who have struggled during this epidemic as well.

image_6483441 (38).JPG

Ingredients:
1kg Stewing beef
2 Tomatoes
2 Onions
2 Cubes beef stock
Hot English mustard powder
Hot curry powder
Bay leaves
1 Can spicy chakalaka
Water
Basmati rice
1 Ripe banana
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
Chop the onions and tomatoes.

image_6483441 (37).JPG

Combine the stewing beef, onions, tomatoes, 2 teaspoons of hot english mustard powder, 2 teaspoons of hot curry powder and bay leaves in a slow cooker. Dissolve the beef stock in 500ml water and pour over the ingredients.

image_6483441 (36).JPG

Leave the slow cooker on a high heat for 3 - 4 hours, stirring in between, making sure there is enough moisture. I’ve left the heat on auto and went on with my normal day, this just quickens the process, by starting on a high heat.

When the beef has softened and pulls apart easily, add the chakalaka. Chakalaka is a South African vegetable relish, usually spicy, that we can purchase ready made, and as I love simple, delicious food, this is a perfect add on to a pot of hearty curry. I added more mustard and curry powder to taste as well, as I like it spicy.

IMG-8795.jpg

Stir properly and put the slow cooker on a low heat, to simmer away. While the curry’s flavor develops, start with the basmati rice.

image_6483441 (35).JPG

I prefer basmati rice as I find it more aromatic than normal white rice. The key to making perfect basmati rice is to rinse it first, so that the grains do not stick together.

image_6483441 (34).JPG

In a medium pot, bring water, salt and the basmati rice to a boil. Cover the pot, lower the heat and allow the rice to simmer for 15 to 20 minutes, until it is soft and fluffy.

image_6483441 (33).JPG

Once the rice is finished, the curry should be rich and hearty with a warm, lingering burn, tantalizing your taste buds.

IMG-8810.jpg

In a bowl, add a scoop of the fluffy, aromatic rice and top with the mouth-watering curry. Slice up the ripe banana, to bring some sweetness and freshness to the dish.

image_6483441 (39).JPG

The days when my mom decided to be very generous with the hot curry powder, we would enjoy the dish with a cooling glass of milk and some fruit chutney as well. These days I prefer a glass of red wine with mine 😉

This is a signature dish of mine, as it is a little bit of me on a plate. Spicy, but warm-hearted, generous and wholesome.

Thank you to @qurator for allowing me to introduce a part of myself and my heritage with this contest. I hope to see many more stories with appetizing dishes entering!

Here is the link to the contest if you would like to enter as well: Qurator's: Hive Top Chef! | Signature Dish!

image.png

image.png

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency