Homemade Banana Bread | Including Recipe

Introduction

For at least a year, I can't even remember exactly as it feels so long ago, I've been wanting to try baking a banana bread. I always thought this would be a big struggle using ripe bananas, and never went ahead with the task. About 6 months ago, a friend brought me a few slices of her homemade banana bread and I was instantly in love. So close to cake, but still so different as well. I told myself that I should really try baking one soon, but so far 6 months have passed again. What a shame! But today is the day that I will try this recipe out, I added walnuts to the recipe as I always thought adding nuts was a great combination with banana bread.

Ingredients

  • 125 grams of melted butter (I only use real butter!)
  • 200 grams of sugar
  • 2 big eggs
  • 60 ml milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 250 grams of flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • handful of chopped nuts of your choice
  • 1 banana for the top of the bread (optional)

You will also need:

  • Oven
  • Baking tin
  • Baking paper

Let's get started

  1. Preheat the oven at 160 degrees Celsius and also make sure the baking tin is covered with baking paper (and/or butter).
  2. First mix the sugar with the butter and then add the eggs one by one while mixing.
  3. Now stir the milk and vanilla extract through the mix, add the flour, the baking soda and salt. Now mix it for a short period. This really doesn't have to be done for long.

  1. Mash the bananas by hand or use a mixer. Now add this to your batter and stir a bit until they are nicely included in the batter. Here's where you add the nuts to the batter as the last step.

  1. Now add the batter to your baking tin and add the banana on top if you wish to include this step. Slice it through the middle and add the two parts on top of your batter before placing it in the oven.

  1. The banana bread needs to be baked in the oven for 50-65 minutes. Keep a close eye on the bread and make sure it doesn't get burned. That would be a shame of your effort!

  1. Once done, leave the bread in the tin for about 10 minutes before removing it.

The end result

I waited for about 15 to 20 minutes myself before removing it from the baking tin. The little lady was waiting for a slice, while I told her it probably tastes better once cooled off.

We both took a slice, it tasted good, but I still prefer cakes/breads to be cooled off, this time that wasn't any different.

I had this marvelous idea to add Nutella on top of the banana bread:

Although I'm not a fan of putting chocolate drops inside cakes/breads, I do love a nice topping of Nutella. I usually never buy Nutella anymore as it's just too good. Last week I gave in to my cravings after maybe 1 year to buy it, and I'm glad I did because this was a great addition to a slice of banana bread. Not very healthy, I get it, but sometimes I'm allowed to sin, this was well worth it!

I can truly say that the banana bread tastes better the day after. I'm a fan, and I will definitely try out other twists in this recipe in the future, because this will be a reoccurring recipe, I'm sure!

Hopefully you enjoyed this recipe as well, if you tried baking it, please let me know hot it turned out. Any tips for nice additions to a banana bread are of course also welcome!

Thanks for visiting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency