Hokkaido Cupcakes... anyone?



Just yesterday, we discovered a very delicious snack called Hokkaido cupcakes! <3


My mama is following the Facebook page of one of the bakeshops here in our area when she found a post on their latest snack, Hokkaido cupcakes. Upon seeing this, she screenshotted the post and sent it to our family's group chat. I was on my 5-minute break that time, so I jokingly replied... "Papa, I will have a 30-minute break after my next class... thanks for this snack!" They both laughed, but then mama seconded. lol

After my class, mama sent a message on the group chat saying, "Go out on your break time, papa bought Hokkaido cupcakes!" It turned out that they called the branch which is only a few blocks away if they have this snack and said that they do. So, papa went there and bought some.

image.png


They're sold in boxes and papa bought one box of this piece of heaven. lol One box costs Php300 or around 6usd. It has nine cupcakes inside the box.

image.png


Here's how it's packed. It's from Cebu Cardinal Bakeshop and is one of the famous bakeshops in Cebu. We are very lucky to live nearby one of their branches, where they actually create these lovely snacks. We sometimes get them fresh from the oven! Yummy~!!!

image.png


Here's a closer view of the cupcake. It's placed inside a cute paper cup. It is so fluffy to touch and it bounce back when you touch it. You can see some cream at the center oozing out and the chiffon is sprinkled with some powdered sugar frosting. What I like about the frosting is that it's not very sweet unlike other sugar frostings. I believe Cardinal Bakeshop's dessert are not that sweet, so I like it. You don't get tired of eating it easily. haha

image.png

image.png


The cream inside is like a taste of heaven! haha It's so delicious! And it's not only a bit of cream as you see in the pictures. The chiffon was perfect! It was light and fluffy. It goes pretty well with the cream and adding the powdered sugar frosting made it so much better.


I was wondering why it's called Hokkaido cupcakes at first, but then I remember that one time when a Japanese friend of mine came to the Philippines and gave us a souvenir from Hokkaido. It's called Shiroi Koibito and is known to be a specialty in Hokkaido. It looks like this below:



image.png
IMAGE SOURCE



It really tasted similar. The cream and the frosting, especially. The only difference is that, Shiroi Koibito is made of soft biscuits instead of chiffon cake. I think there are various type of Shiroi Koibito goodies, but the one my friend gave is similar to that above, though it was inside a bigger rectangular box and the goodies' shape is also rectangular.

I suddenly miss eating this! But, I'd feast my taste buds with these mouthwatering Hokkaido cupcakes instead. Ahhh~ My parents love it, too! <3 Do you want to try some? I still have around 5 cups left in the fridge. (^^,)/ Until next time foodies!!! <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency