TacoCat's TrEats #66: Chicken and Waffles are Clucking good! 🐔

image.png

Source: eatbook

Hey Hive!

Since I've been sharing a lot of our favourite takeaway foods we've been trying during and post-lockdown, I thought I'd do something a little different today and write about a place we tried before the lockdown; in fact before all the craziness that happened since covid became public news.

Back in February, we celebrated Valentines' Day by going out for dinner to a place that Sean found called Cluck Cluck! He told me the place sold fried chicken which always smells so good every time he passes by so we finally decided to give it a try!

2.jpg

Located just underneath (and actually attached to) the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts, Cluck Cluck is not exactly the typical romantic place for a Valentines' dinner since it's mainly a student hangout, but we're not fancy people anyway.

1.jpg
Their sign is in Century Gothic font which I appreciate since it's one of my favourite fonts.

The interior of the restaurant/diner is quite simple and minimalist while also being comfortable, although some of the tables were quite close to each other. I did like the spotlights and the posters though.

4.jpg

It definitely had a modern, American diner vibe, especially with the decor behind the counter. There were vintage-style posters on the wall and the red, orange and yellow tiles are definitely reminiscent of old diners.

5.jpg

So when Sean said it was a chicken place called Cluck Cluck I don't know why but I thought it would be Korean-style fried chicken. But upon entering the place I knew it would be more of a Western style fried chicken. Their menu had Cajun chicken, burgers and pasta.

7.jpg

But it's okay; fried chicken is still fried chicken and I like all kinds! And they also had Chicken and Waffles!

I'm a big fan of We Bare Bears and ever since their Chicken and Waffles episode I've been wanting to try a place that had good chicken and waffles and now I finally got my chance! I'm actually not a fan of mixing sweet and salty but watching the episode made me wanna try it so bad!

image.png

So I ordered the Crispy Chicken and Waffles while Sean got their Signature XL Crispy Chicken.

Oh btw they also had a breakfast menu but since we went there for dinner we couldn't order from there:

8.jpg

So we sat and waited for our food. About 10 minutes later, our food arrived!

My chicken and waffles came first:

10.jpg

But Sean's Signature XL chicken came soon after:

12.jpg

And they both came served on chicken-shaped wooden boards! How cute!

13.jpg

The chicken that came with my waffles looked pretty small and given how hungry we were I'm glad we decided to order the XL chicken as well.

9.jpg

It was actually pretty yummy! The waffles weren't the ideal crunchiness but the chicken more than made up for it. And it wasn't oily so the waffles didn't get all greasy from the chicken either!

The batter used for both our fried chicken was exactly the same so it tasted similar, but it was really quite tasty! Mildly peppery and savoury, it matched the chicken perfectly. Although I would say it can be a little dry after a while.

11.jpg

Thankfully, the XL chicken came with a side of nacho cheese (which we selected among 8 different sauces they had), which helped with the dryness a little bit.

As mentioned, I'm not really a fan of mixing sweet and salty so I didn't pour maple syrup on the chicken like most people would. I only dipped the waffles in it but I did eat them together in the same bite though. And it was pretty good.

0.jpg

Overall, I'd say the food was pretty average. The portions were kinda small and the chicken got dry after a while. But for the nett prices I'd say it's quite alright.

It's too bad that they closed down during the pandemic. I can definitely see a lot of students eating there and they probably did, but with work-from-home and quarantine in full effect I guess they couldn't sustain it long enough to survive. What a shame; they only operated for about a year.

Maybe they'll open again sometime next year? We'll see.

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


[//]:# (!pinmapple 1.300030 lat 103.851885 long d3scr)

Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat's TrEats #65: Wanton Mee that'll leave you Wanting more 🍜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency