TacoCat's TrEats #114: KFC Chimken and Waffles! 🐔

image.png

Hey Hive!

Now that a lot of people here have already gotten vaccinated, I'm very happy to hear that Singapore is now allowing in-house dining again, but up to 2 people and obviously you have to be vaccinated. However, we're still trying to stay safe and limiting our time out. Besides, work and my messed up sleep schedule due to streaming has been keeping us pretty busy so we've been doing more takeouts nowadays.

And the other day, I saw an ad on my instagram feed that KFC had a new product - chicken and waffles!

image.png

Source: sethlui

Apparently they had breakfast waffles for some time now, but since I'm never awake at normal breakfast hours I never got to try it. And since chicken and waffles have been a thing for quite some time now, it took KFC long enough to do this. I mean, they had the chicken and the waffles separately for ages.

image.png

Source: KFC

Anyway, we decided to give it a try the other day since we had a craving for something crispy! So we ordered it and about 20 minutes later, our food arrived!

image.png

They had a special offer for their chicken and waffles set at the time which also included 3 pieces of chicken, 4 nuggets and their special sweet potato poppers!

image.png

Source: KFC

So there were 3 boxes in total that arrived at our doorstep!

image.png

And here were the contents! They actually smelled soo good!

image.png

Here was the 3 pieces of chicken, nuggets and mashed potato:

image.png

These sauces came with our chicken and waffles so I opened up the caramel flavoured syrup to drizzle onto the waffle. I've actually never seen the sour cream and onion flavoured dressing before, so I wasn't sure what that was for, but either way, we're not fans of dressing since we don't eat salad.

image.png

I didn't really expect the waffle to be crispy since it was delivered, but I was still a little disappointed. It was really fluffy though, but it wasn't crispy, unfortunately. Still, it looked really appetising nonetheless.

image.png

And lastly, these were the sweet potato poppers!

image.png

Apparently they are sweet potato mochi poppers and are filled with creamy sweet potato paste and fried to perfection for a crisp exterior, or so they say. I'm not too big a fan of sweet potatoes, but it was alright. Like the waffle, it wasn't crispy anymore, but it was really chewy and only slightly sweet. I guess it was supposed to mix sweet and savoury but it wasn't so savoury and more sweet for me. Still pretty alright.

image.png

Overall though, I'd say the meal was really good! The chicken was super crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside with that signature KFC spice blend, and the nuggets were pretty standard. The mashed potato had a little less gravy than I would've liked though, but it was still good.

But it was definitely really filling and delicious! I could barely finish my half of the waffle! We actually didn't eat the chicken and waffle together like you'd expect since I don't like to mix different tastes like sweet and salty. But I imagine it'd taste nice to those who like that.

I'd say this is a more affordable option to eating chicken and waffles in a fancy cafe, and at least you know the chicken will be good. Definitely give it a try if you ever have a hankering for chicken and waffles! We've actually eaten it before at a different restaurant if you wanna check it out I posted about it below!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my other post!
TacoCat's TrEats #66: Chicken and Waffles are Clucking good! 🐔


Posted via foodiesunite.net

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency