TacoCat's TrEats #110: Giving Shake Shack a fair Shake!πŸ”

image.png

Hey Hive!

Recently, there have been a couple of spikes in covid cases recently and regulations have been put in place regarding how many house visitors we can have, and how many can eat out together etc. So while we've been vaccinated we've mostly been avoiding eating out while we can and limiting our time spent just being out in general, to be safe. So we've been ordering in and doing more takeouts nowadays.

This past weekend we finally went to visit my brother and sis-in-law after many months of not seeing them due to covid restrictions! She was pregnant the last time we saw them which was about a week or so after Chinese New Year back in early February and they've since had the baby for a few months! And they've wanted to have us come and visit my niece but with the lockdown and them having to take care of her I knew we'd have to wait a few months. And now that they've past the first hurdle, my sis-in-law thought it'd be a good time to have us visit!

So we went over for lunch since I stream every night, and they offered to get Shake Shack for us since both of them love it and neither Sean nor I have tried it in Singapore yet. We've only ever had Shake Shack in Japan and I remember their milkshakes to be exceedingly sweet.

Here's their menu:

image.png

image.png

I was initially thinking of trying the chicken because I thought it was a chicken burger, but Sean told me it was just the chicken cutlet, so I changed my mind and ordered the Roasted Garlic Mushroom Burger instead. And Sean got the SmokeShack which sounded really good too!

My brother went to Jewel at Changi Airport to get it but it took him a while since it was a 20 minute drive away and it was a Sunday so they were probably busy too. But it was all worth it because we were so hungry by the time he came back and the food smelled so good!

And the presentation was so good too! It came in a bag but here were our burgers!

image.png

My brother also ordered some side dishes like Chick'n Bites which is like chicken karaage and Roasted Garlic Fries!

image.png

The burgers looked so delicious and neat I loved it!

image.png

The Garlic Fries were crinkle cut fries topped with roasted garlic mayo, grated parmesan and a sprinkle of fresh scallions! We had to sprinkle it ourselves but it was all good and it actually tasted quite yummy!

image.png

The chicken tasted pretty good too! I've had better karaage but it was still good! It wasn't as warm as I would've liked but understandable since it was takeaway and it was at least still crispy and the accompanying sauce was really good too!

image.png

Then it was time for the main entree and this was my Roasted Garlic Mushroom Burger, which was a provolone cheeseburger topped with portobello mushrooms, crispy fried shallots and a tangy roasted garlic mayo:

image.png

And it was soo good! The patty was nicely roasted to perfection and the portobello mushroom added more moisture to it so it wasn't dry. The crispy shallots gave it a nice crunchy texture and sauce added some extra flavours so they all blended really well together! I don't know how this would compare to Wolf Burger's mushroom burger since that also has a portobello mushroom and is one of my favourites, but I think this Shake Shack burger is probably less greasy.

And this was Sean's SmokeShack burger, which was a cheeseburger with all-natural applewood-smoked bacon, cherry peppers and their special ShackSauce!

image.png

We shared each other's burgers so I got to have a taste of his and the peppers really gave it a real spice kick! The patty was good and blended well with the cheese, and the bacon was really tasty too and gave it a nice crunch which is always good. I did taste a little bit of a spice similar to the feeling you get from wasabi but not as strong. I think it was the ShackSauce but I wasn't really a fan. It was alright though, but the peppers got a little spicy.

Overall, I thought this meal was awesome and definitely satisfying. I could barely finish my burger even though it looked small at first. Then again it was my first meal of the day so my appetite was not as big as it usually was. But I can definitely see what's up with the Shake Shack hype because there was a really long queue when they first opened here in Singapore. I personally wouldn't queue hours for this, but I can see why people would. It is definitely delicious!

If you have the chance and you love burgers, definitely give Shake Shack a try!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat's TrEats #109: Finding Beauty in The Pot 🍲


Posted via foodiesunite.net

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency