TacoCat's TrEats #106: Tasty Chimken McCrispy! 🍗

image.png

Source: Mothership

Hey Hive!

Recently, the Singapore government announced that there will basically be another lockdown, so unfortunately, we're unable to eat in restaurants and food courts/hawker centers now and can only do takeaways. We've also been limiting our time spent just being out in general, to be safe. So we've been ordering in and doing more takeouts nowadays.

So a couple weeks ago, McDonalds Singapore announced that they were going to bring back their Chicken McCrispy! I've actually never heard of this before, I only knew about the McWings which they already had. But apparently the McCrispy was around in the early 2000s and was discontinued in 2002 after a four-year run. My family didn't really eat fast food back then and it was considered a luxury, so I never got to try it back then.

image.png

Source: Mothership

But after hearing about all the hype on social media and since we had some delivery deal, we decided to try it for dinner the other day! It was still kinda pricey and I was craving a burger so we ordered the 2 piece Chicken McCrispy meal and 1 McSpicy to share. And about 20 minutes or so later, our order arrived!

image.png

It'd been quite a while since I've had McDonalds but I did notice the change in packaging. It used to be more red with the big M and stripes or something, but now it's more minimalist. I like it though; it looks more modern.

And here's our order opened up!

image.png

The meal also comes with fries:

image.png

and a blueberry cream cheese pie that we kept for dessert later:

image.png

So here's my McSpicy! It's my favourite burger to order at McDonalds. With a crispy, spicy chicken patty sandwiched between 2 sesame buns and lettuce with mayo, it's so sinful but soo yummy!

image.png

I used to think the McSpicy burger was a little too spicy, but I still liked it a lot, and then I got used to it. So now it's only mildly spicy. Something I used to do was also add a cheese in the McSpicy to give it more oomph! But it's still really yummy without it.

And here is the Chicken McCrispy:

image.png

I think they gave 1 drumstick and 1 chicken breast, but the crispy skin definitely did look impressive!

image.png

And it wasn't false advertising at all! Not that I was expecting it, but it was surprising to see how accurate the real thing was compared to the advertisements we saw.

And it sure lives up to its name too! Upon the first bite you can already hear how crispy it is; the batter was thick and fried to crunchy perfection, but the meat inside was still juicy and not dry at all! And the skin was nicely seasoned; salty but with a little pepper. It was soo good! And it was actually a little spicy too, maybe even spicier than my McSpicy? The more bites I took the more burn I felt on my tongue. But it was still a nice spice kick!

image.png

If you have a low spice tolerance though, this meal is probably not for you; maybe stick to the McWings instead, but I'd say it's still worth giving it a shot! Just looking at the crispy skin is making my mouth water. I should go make dinner now.

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat's TrEats #105: Saucy Duck Rice! 🦆


Posted via foodiesunite.net

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency