KitKat Chocolatory At Miyashita Park, Shibuya, Japan

IMG_0281.jpg

While visiting the new Miayashita Park development in Shibuya recently, my wife and I stopped by the KitKat Chocolatory.

KitKat is one of the biggest candy bars in Japan. They've done a great job marketing flavors to the Japanese like Matcha(green tea) as well as experimenting with just about every flavor you can think of like banana, mango, strawberry cheesecake and more.
IMG_0283.jpg
So when we saw the chocoloatory we were interested to see what what it was all about and what flavors they would have. I actually had a flashback to one of the candy shops in Disneyland I always loved going to when I was young.

The first thing we noticed was this large, circular counter with all kinds of sweets.

IMG_0282.jpg

The counter is for making your own KitKat. It's the only DIY KitKat in the world and for $22 you can make your own KitKat with various toppings. Unfortunately it was closed due to COVID so we couldn't do it, but someday you might be able to! Think of it as a topping bar at your yogurt shop, nuts, fruits, gummy bears, pretzels, etc. It looks like you get to make one candy bar with four pieces. $22 however seems a bit steep.

We instead decided to just buy some unique, flavored single KitKats for about $3ea. Ya, pricey, but the novelty was worth it.

IMG_0298.jpg

IMG_0299.jpg

This Moleson bar has an almond & cranberry topping and it's inspiration comes from a European style snack from France called "mendiant".

IMG_0301.jpg

I took my time eating it, trying to get something out of it that just wasn't there....

IMG_0302.jpg

It tasted like a KitKat with some nuts and berries, but it was not sophisticated as I had expected it to be. Oh well, sometimes it's the experience that counts.

I really can't say I'd recommend visiting here, but if you happen to be walking through it might be worth having a look and making your own decision.

The KitKat Chocolatory is located on the second floor of Miyashita Park. You can check my pin on Pinmapple for the exact location.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency